Problems with GL1 Analog Passthrough at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 3rd, 2010, 01:05 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: York, SC
Posts: 13
Problems with GL1 Analog Passthrough

I've been searching all over the net for an answer to my question: Does the GL1 passthrough analog video via firewire? I've been searching for an answer to this question, and I've read "Yes" "No" and "Only if you have the remote." Which is it?

Here's my situation. I have about 30 VHS-C tapes I'm trying to put onto DVD for a family project. I have a GL1, a Mac Mini G4 running FCP 5.0, and an old VHS-C camcorder. I have been able to plug in the old camcorder into the AV input on the GL1 and record directly onto DV tape. I'd rather not waste a bunch of tapes doing this, if I don't have to.

When I have FCP open and the firewire cable attached to the GL1, I can't passthrough the signal to FCP. I've tried switching to a Non controllable device, but that does nothing. I have found that if I insert a tape and push pause and record, unplug the firewire from the GL1, I can get the VHSC's signal to display on the Canon's LCD monitor. The second I insert the firewire cable into the Canon it switches to a blue screen. I've never been able to see the VHSC signal on my log and capture screen.

I'd simply like to passthrough analog video to final cut pro, using my GL1 as a hub. Is this possible? Do I need the remote (I don't have one)? Has anyone here actually tried using the GL1 hooked to a VCR/Hi8/VHSC and had success passing video through to FCP without tapes? I'll resort to the tape method if I have to, but since this is a project where I won't be getting paid I'd rather not put money into tapes I don't need. That and I'll save a lot of time, by skipping a step.
Mark Hanlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2010, 08:27 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 13
My only suggestion

I have a GL2 so I can't answer you question. If you can't get it to work, then see if you can borrow a camcorder from someone that does do "pass thru" ... failing that purchase one (used if possible) It does not have to be fancy.
Richard Amirault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 09:11 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: York, SC
Posts: 13
Thanks. I can't believe that people hadn't tried this at some point with a camera as popular as the GL1. I'd figure this of all places would have an answer. I may try and find a camera that does it, but the conflicting information on the GL1 about passthrough makes me a little weary. For this project, I ordered 15 DV tapes for about $30, since I couldn't get it to passthrough. I've tried everything I could, so unless someone has different information... the GL1 does not do analog passthough.
Mark Hanlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 12:01 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Hanlen View Post
Thanks. I can't believe that people hadn't tried this at some point with a camera as popular as the GL1. I'd figure this of all places would have an answer. . . . I've tried everything I could, so unless someone has different information... the GL1 does not do analog passthough.
Well there IS this long-ago review (2002) that does a decent job at a GL1<>GL2 comparison. And within that there is this statement:

"The GL2 also includes many minor features that make the camcorder easier to use. With the GL2 you can turn on SMPTE color bars, turn off the automatic shut down, turn on a 16:9 viewfinder guide, burn the date and time permanently to the video, do analog to digital pass through, do interval recording, set the zoom speed, control an external DV device, and mark shots good or bad on the tape index." (ref: Hands-on GL2 Report by Robin Liss)

So by inference, I would deduce that the GL1 cannot do AV<>DV pass thorough, as this was a feature being applauded in the GL2?

HTH

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2010, 09:12 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: York, SC
Posts: 13
I had seen that review, but since it was sort of indirectly addressed I wasn't sure. It was even more confusing after reading a few claims by people online that it does pass through. Of course, it's not addressed in the manual, which I guess could mean it doesn't. I do appreciate the reply. Maybe it'll help someone else who stumbles upon this thread in the future. Although GL1's are becoming dinosaurs, so I would expect the inquiries to drop off accordingly. Here's crossing my fingers that mine will last another few years.
Mark Hanlen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network