GL2 recording from a TV at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2002, 08:51 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
GL2 recording from a TV

hey hey, maybe this is a stupid questions but... i was wondering if its possible to record footage from a televison on to my GL2, through the RCA cables? anyone know? im looking an easy way for a way to capture footage! thanks, any responce will be much appreciated!

david
DaveBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2002, 08:56 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Yes it is most certainly possible. I believe all you have to do is hook up the cables using the 3-progned RCA that came with it, put the camera in VCR mode, press record then play, and you're off.

If I'm slightly wrong, check the manual, but I think that's it.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 06:46 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 205
I dunno. seems like either the gl2 or gl1 will not input thru analog; only SVHS input will work. Could be wrong.
Bill Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 09:33 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
I have done it. I don't remember if you have to set something special in the menus, but you can absolutely do it on the GL2.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2002, 05:02 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 66
I second that. It's very possible. Read your manual and if you don't have one you can download it from the canon website.
Dirk Goris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2002, 04:38 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 21
There is a menu option

After you hook up the TV to the GL2 using the A/V cable, go into the GL2 Menu, choose VCR setup and set AV -> DV OUT : ON
Steve Garfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2002, 12:15 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
The best way to record a TV program from your camcorder is to use VCR with an RF Tuner Input and with an RCA analog output. Connect the Antenna cable to the input of the VCR and select the channel you want to record, did I miss something?
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2003, 07:22 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto Ont Canada
Posts: 20
I have tried this but it just has black. Is this because it uses copy wright signal?

Can anyone help me with this. I just got my GL2 3 days ago and i love it. I just need some help other than from the manual.

thanks
Tim McGreggor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2003, 01:39 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5
I have a 200mc and have a similar problem. I have some footage that was shot on my trip to Africa. I can see the VCR output on the LCD of the 200MC but the camera refuses to record. The original footage was in PAL format but I have had the tape converted to NTSC. I have also tried some footage that I had taped from the tube.

When I press REC/PAUSE on the remote, the caption on the LCD does change to PAUSE but pressing the button again does not change to REC (recording). I have no problems taping new footage. I am in the VCR mode which is what the manual states I should be in and have followed all the instructions. Is the problem the VCR, is the camera not liking both types of footage?
Wojtek Zlobicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2003, 02:50 AM   #10
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Sorry, I don't quite follow you. Are you saying that you recorded PAL footage from a PAL cam, then had it AV converted to NTSC---and now you can't pull it into your NTSC cam from your NTSC VCR? If that's what you did, it should work. If shot in PAL, converted via VCR, then pulled it into my NTSC cam. Mind you, it looked awfull! 0_0
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2003, 06:44 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5
Frank,

Original footage was PAL , had it converted to NTSC. Resulting footage was in NTSC format.

I also found what my problem was. When wanting to record, one needs to press the REC PAUSE button on the remote, start source of footage and press the pause button (NOT REC PAUSE). I called Canon support and they did not point me to my error.

While the instructions in the manual are correct, its easy to make this mistake. Why in the world would I press pause to start recording. It is further annoying that the REC PAUSE button is red (where one would expect to begin recording). It would be nice if they included the symbol found on the remote for the given action for newbies like myself.

I was guided into finding the error of my ways by reading the post of another user in the forums.
Wojtek Zlobicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2003, 07:22 AM   #12
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Oh, well, I guess it helps to read the instructions. I had to figure out the buttons when I first began dubbing sound into my footage. It's so easy to not point the remote correctly and press the wrong button. Glad you figured out the problem.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network