GL / XM assorted posts, 2003 - Page 24 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:35 PM   #346
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6
Thanks a lot, Ken. I was able to get time/date. Now the second....
Max Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2003, 06:08 AM   #347
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 453
GOD NO!
Why should you feel better?!
You did a bad thing! You must suffer! :-)

Any pics of the loose socket on the back the xm2?
Also, could you run some more tests and tell us how much can the xm2 take?
:lol

Please don't mind me....
Cosmin Rotaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2003, 01:51 PM   #348
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
You're right, the EZ series will not work. Just for grins I tried my 540EZ on my new GL2 and no luck. Oh well.
Clint Bortell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2003, 10:56 PM   #349
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 353
I also use the Sony MDR-7506. When I'm working with them on my wife can yell and I can't hear her. Meantime I'm getting great clarity. They even allowed me to hear the faint zoom motor noise on my GL2 that was giving me a problem before I solved the problem.
Will Fastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 05:45 AM   #350
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
In the low cost arena, consider the Azden WD-series of VHF wireless mics.

YOu can conenct two wireless receivers to the GL1/2 if you use a "Y" adapter, available ar Radio Shack and other fine audio accessory sources.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 04:30 PM   #351
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Haven, CT, USA
Posts: 59
Problem with new GL2 - Handle buttons stopped working?

I've had my GL2 for two days now. Everything is going fine, but now all of a sudden the buttons on the top handle (record, photo, zoom) are not functioning. However the playback controls still work...

Is there a setting that I'm missing that somehow turns off these buttons? I've tried the camera in all modes (easy record, auto, Av, etc) but that doesn't have an effect. The camera has not been dropped or exposed to any conditions that would have this effect on it...

Everything else works perfectly =\
Any ideas?

Thanks.
Steve Withers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 04:40 PM   #352
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hi Steve,
If the Record/Zoom/Photo buttons aren't responding, check the locking latch immediately to the right, and below, the Start/Stop (record) button. You have probably accidentally pushed this latch to its locked position, thus disabling those controls.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 04:48 PM   #353
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Haven, CT, USA
Posts: 59
I suppose I should read the manual. hah. Yep, they were locked.

Thanks!
Steve Withers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 05:24 PM   #354
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Luis Obispo CA
Posts: 1,189
Thanks ken....mine stopped working about 6 months ago...and I was just about to send it in before the warranty goes...even though my lock switch was off, I switched it on and then off again and, by jiminy, now my zoom works.


Barry
Barry Goyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 09:57 PM   #355
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4
Dirty camera head

I was recording recently and got a "dirty camera head" message when filming with my GL2. When I got home, the entire tape had this "mosaic" look to it. Is my tape ruined for good or is there some way to reverse it?

I am using Sony DVM 60-PR 60 minute tapes. I had used a Sont cleaning cassette earlier in the week and followed the instructions of running it only for 10 seconds. Should I run the cleaning cassette longer?
__________________
Terrill A.
Terrill Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2003, 10:23 PM   #356
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Terrill,
I would run that cleaner tape again (per its directions), then try recording on a new tape. If the camera is still laying down bad video, chances are that something else is awry and that Canon Service will need to take care of it.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 12:50 AM   #357
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
I agree with Ken. Something else may be wrong. However, here's a link about tape (with head cleaning info) and further links about tape.

http://www.dvfreak.com/tape.htm
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 07:14 AM   #358
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Please continue the thread Ken indicated so that all questions
regarding this issue go into that one thread. With that I am
locking this one.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 07:29 AM   #359
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm glad your camera still works Miles. But you might want to
consider to get it fixed. Otherwise it might break down at the
least forgiveable moment (your familiair with such laws I assume)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2003, 03:00 AM   #360
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Dv In?

Okay, firstly I'm not getting a problem, I'm asking the following as a means to '"clear-up" a question I've been mulling over for sometime now.

When I connect my XM2 to my pc I get a "DV IN" notifacation on the XM2 screen. Okay. There is an option within the Settings to select DV IN or not. If I'm Capturing surley this is DV OUT, and therefore why don't I dissable "DV IN"? My laptop allows for DV control and I can Preview/Cue/Fast F and reverse no problem. Is this the action of connecting to the laptop "forcing" a DV IN notifacation? On the other hand I can understand why the "DV IN" happens when I Print To Tape - this makes sense to me. - As I said all is working fine - I'm just a tad confused - no change there then!

I also get the "TV SCREEN" notifacation. I'm presuming this is because the XM2 having the f/w cable connected to the laptop, the XM2 thinks it is being used on a TV monitor - yes?

I'm really not wanting to continue to use my XM2 as a VCR deck. I'm considering a separate piece of kit - but that is a separate thread.

Thanks in advance,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network