GL / XM assorted posts, 2003 - Page 56 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2003, 02:36 AM   #826
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
GL2 or XL1-S

Just looking for a quick response to what the main differences are between these two awesome camera's. Wondering because I want to know if I should consider moving up to the XL1-S.
Thanks. It was my understanding that the only difference is the interchangeable lenses?
Eddie Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 05:52 AM   #827
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
. . don't know IF you've got the GL2 already . .?

Here's a few . . .

On our Forum:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...&threadid=3018

. .nice table here:
http://www.dvdirect.com/TSS/charts/CanonCamcorder.htm

. .review-type things:
http://videosystems.com/ar/video_canon_gl_camcorder/

http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content...der_review.htm

. . any good?

For what it is worth, I'm happy with my XM2. The XL!s is still minidv. Yes has inter-lens . . has more bits 'n pieces you can buy. But, the XM2 has 2 x manual audio AND 20x zoom . . oh yes the XL1 systems are more expensive.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 05:35 PM   #828
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Henderson TN
Posts: 1
Iris issues: not adjusting to low-light

I'm having some trouble with my GL2's auto-exposure: while in any shooting mode (except AV) the camera will not re-adjust to low-light situations. For instance, when I power on the camera in "Easy Mode" a dark room remains dark. (I tested with a second GL2 I own and upon powering up it instantly adjusts to the low light).

I can crank the E-lock up to +11, and then release it to get the proper exposure, but if I then point at a bright light (thus shrinking the iris) and then back to the dark room, it cannot re-adjust to the low light and the scene remains very dark.

Interestingly AV shooting mode handles lighting changes fine. But no other mode.

Again my other GL2 manages these situations perfectly. Any ideas? Am I missing a setting? Or headed for repair?

thanks so much,

-Andy
Andy Gaskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2003, 07:54 PM   #829
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Sounds like a trip to Canon service.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2003, 04:00 AM   #830
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
White Balance Blowing to lower format?

Okay, please have patience with me.

I've used auto WB with DV and this isn't a problem. But I've been told that using Manual WB and then going to another situtation and filming - ie outside to inside shooting - and then going to a lower format for the final product - ie VHS tape - would end up "blowing" or over exposing the white areas. Is there a way of comabating this within Vegas in post? Or should I treat WB with specific respect, and use manual WB for each and every separate WB situation?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2003, 11:11 AM   #831
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 197
white balance

I think you must have a few things cockeyed here. White balance will normally have nothing to do with getting blown out highlights even if you go from one color temp to another. It may be possible that in some instances the color temperature shift might be -just- enough to bring something from legal to blown when you change your location, but it is much more likely the issue would be due to your manual shutter speed/f stop. If you are using manual controls and move to a new location you will obviously check your exposure and adjust it. Your manual color balance setting may not be correct if you dont' also adjust that, but if you have set your exposure properly, you won't get blown out highlights...you'll simply get the wrong colors. As for how it affects color or exposure going to VHS, I'll defer that to somebody else and invite an expert to correct me above if I'm wrong. :)
__________________
on the Internet, when you get where you're going you still don't know where you are
Bud Kuenzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2003, 12:25 AM   #832
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Brea, CA
Posts: 356
what other lense accessories are there for the GL2

hi,
i have a few questions.
what other lense accessories are there for the GL2? and what are the best? why would in need any? are there any possible ways to change the lense on the gl2? and finally why is the lense on the xl1s longer than the lense on the gl2. I keep hearing that the images between the gl2 and the xl1s are very close.
Joel Corral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2003, 10:49 AM   #833
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 357
There are several tele-extenders (1.7x and 2.0x) made by Sony and Century Optics. Any number of wide angle converters in you choice of angles made by a variety of companies. A 16:9 anamorphic converter from Century Optics. Matte boxes, lots!
__________________
Jeff Price
Flickerflix Nature Videos
flickerflix@yahoo.com
Jeff Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2003, 11:18 PM   #834
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
GL2 Audio questions

I am considering purchasing a gl2 and have a few audio questions concerning microphones.
I've done some research and decided the Sennheiser ME66 microphone would be a good shotugn mic to have on the camera. My first question is this?
1) Is it better to run the Sennheiser mic with battery power from the microphone adapter or use phantom power? I read somewhere that using phantom power sounds better, is this true?

2) How is the quality of the Canon MA300 XLR setup as compared to some of the products from Beachtek? Does is affect audio quality by going through the accessory shoe? Doe the MA300 supply phantom power?

I'd love to hear what anyone with some experience with these products has to say. Thanks
Aaron Funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2003, 06:09 AM   #835
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
NO phantom power from the MA300. Its sound quality could be slightly better than the Beachtek, but probably would need golden ears to hear any difference.

Per their specifications, some mics do have less distortion at very high sound levels when phantom power is used. However, the ME66 specs I've read do not reflect this sort of difference.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network