GL2 External Mics at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2006, 06:39 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
GL2 External Mics

Hi all,

My DM-50 works great. However, when I plug in a lapel mic or other mic the audio barely registers. I tested the mics with the computer and they are good. What am I missing?
Glen Tibbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 05:43 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Do the other mics require power?

What is the external mic jack sensitivity setting (is MIC ATT on)?

What is their output impedance? The input inpedance of the GL series mic jack is about 600 ohms. Some mic have a higher output impedance and this will result in the loss of level - it can be significant if the mispatch is high.

Some mics have a fairly low output level.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 07:56 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
i use a rode videomic, which works brilliantly. but the videomic uses a 9v battery and i dont think that most lapel mics are powered, and the gl2 doesn't provide power (unless you use a phantom xlr adaptor).

just wondering - what does the mic att actually do?
Harry Marr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 08:54 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 105
mic att.

I believe the mic att. "pads" the input of the mic...so that if you're recording in a very loud environment you don't clip the sound recorded.....like with a factory or a rock band etc....of course, you still would need an external box like the Beachtek or similar to us an XLR input where to take a (balanced) feed off of a sound desk...which otherwise would be so hot that it would be very over-modulated and distorted....
Len
Len Imbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 01:59 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
powered mics

Thanks all,

I believe the problem is mic gain. The mics I am using do not have a power source. Soooo, I need a MA-300 or some such.

I purchased Visual Communicator and was trying to use the included lapel mic straight into the GL2.

Thanks again,
Glen Tibbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 05:40 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
What kind of mic is it? Is there a brand name? Many mics sold for sound cards are powered by the card.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 08:12 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 4
mic types

Thanks Don,

I plugged the mic into my sound card and it works great, just like Visual Communicator said.

I was stumped when the mic would not work going directly into my GL2. All solved now.

Glen
Glen Tibbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 04:53 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
As I recall, the MA300 provides about 6 dB of gain, and it is also 600 ohm input impedance. It might not provide a significant improvement with the sound card mic.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 08:23 AM   #9
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen Tibbits
...The mics I am using do not have a power source. Soooo, I need a MA-300 or some such....
The MA-300 does not supply any power. As a side note, it also lacks many HUGE features that are included in the equally priced Beachtek DXA-4 (beachtek.com). MA300 owners kick themselves when they see the Beachtek.

Incidentally, neither the DM-50 nor the internal mic will work with the MA300 (or any other XLR adapter).
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 02:31 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Posts: 105
mic boxes

....Also have a look at the one's made by Studio 1(XLR-Pro)....much like Beachtek and you can mix and match mics and input sources for left and right etc.
Len
Len Imbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 05:52 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
I have heard that Sign Video was the manufacturer of the original Studio One line. They also offer XLR adapters.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network