GL2 Direct-to-disc at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2006, 08:45 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
GL2 Direct-to-disc

Hey guys i have another conundrum. I saw an external hard drive at target and was very interested. So is there any way to stream directly to the hard drive and bypass the tape with the GL2? and would i need a special hard drive to do this? Thanks again guys?
Will Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 09:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 75
Hey Will,
If you scroll halfway down this page http://www.videoguys.com/pyro.htm
there is an external hard drive that I think is just what you are looking for.
Yours,
Tom
__________________
Tom Elliott - Photographer
http://www.tom-elliott-photography.com
Studio Phone: 305-251-4315
Miami, Florida
Tom Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 09:12 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks for helping me so much today Tom. Yeah, are you refering to the pyro drive? If so thats a whole lotta money. So i cant use a regular external usb 2.0 hard drive to record?
Will Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 01:24 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Firstly you can not get a USB video stream out from a XM2, and therefore secondly to feed a USB drive. We only have firewire out/in for the video. I recently tried doing this via the USB lead to do a static WebCam thing! Silly boy . . . !

Now when I first researched, and yes played with the XM2 at the shop, I took my Dell Schlaptop and used capture in Sony Vegas to capture - well I think it was VideoFactory, anyway - and it worked.

But you do need firewire throughout. Also try out web searches for FireStore devices - there are others too. Not cheap! However what you WONT be able to do without a pc/laptop - in the circuit - is to capture directly to an external USB drive - were it that simple! If somebody wants to contradict me, go ahead - I'm all ears! It would be a potentially neat and inexpensive solution. End of the day, things like Firestore have a ready to go interface that allows for the f/w OUTs to go directly into their devices. Personally I think we ARE getting the rough end of the stick on this - no change there then.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 05:10 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 75
Graham,
What do you mean by rough end of the stick?
Yours,
Tom
__________________
Tom Elliott - Photographer
http://www.tom-elliott-photography.com
Studio Phone: 305-251-4315
Miami, Florida
Tom Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 06:40 AM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Tom - Delighted!

We can now purchase a 300gb external harddrives for . what? . . over here something like 125GBps? Yes? Okay give it a low voltage supply, slap on an interface for f/w . .. what another 50? We gotta drive to take f/w. Yes I realise it isn't as straight forward as that . .but? 500 Squids for a 40gb direct to drive lump? Now THAT'S what I call the rough end of the stick! No? You think I'm incorrect. I don't think so. I really don't.

The problem we've got is the f/w to external h/d is at present going thru a pc/laptop. Do YOU think "Direct-to-Disc" manufacturers/suppliers DON'T know this? Right . ..

OOps.. just seen another one . . A 80gb HD hd M2T compliant drive for WOW! Cheapo! ! ! 999.0 . .. ! ! Cooo . . . . Larf? I don't know where to turn first!

Rough end of the stick? . . Oh yes . . maybe others knew what I meant . .

Look, if I had and earned this sort of money, no problemo. I don't and subsequently would wish that a version of the same was created for my end of the market.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 12:04 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 75
I understand your upset, for I too think to have that capability is a LITTLE HIGH. However, I do not know just what the physical/technical requirements are to have portable hd capture since one is bypassing a computer. It might be that there is a mini computer of sorts that enables one to use the Firestore. I have not done a cost breakdown, but Firestore still may be a little cheaper that strapping a laptop to your back and a portable long lasting power source to power the camcorder, laptop and the hard drive. I have a small 12volt battery pack I some times use while on location, but IT IS VERY HEAVY.
Yours,
Tom
__________________
Tom Elliott - Photographer
http://www.tom-elliott-photography.com
Studio Phone: 305-251-4315
Miami, Florida
Tom Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 12:28 PM   #8
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Elliott
I understand your upset
. .actually it is "you are" = you're not "your" . . anyways, upset? Nah . . just a bit wordly. That's all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Elliott
It might be that there is a mini computer of sorts that enables one to use the Firestore.
Yes of course, I'm sure. But think of all those PDAs and SatNavs out there. Plenty power there. May even be more.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Elliott
I have not done a cost breakdown, but Firestore still may be a little cheaper that strapping a laptop to your back . ..
Yes, maybe, but the manufactures know this too.

Guess there aint a BIG enough market for all this to be competitive enough to "drive" down the actual retail price.

I'd really like to get a professionals view on the cost to market for something like this though.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 01:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
You can get 40GB HDD units for storing still images and some of these have firewire sockets. They are generally around 300, but I suspect their write speed would be too slow.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 02:26 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Graham, hey about buying a hard drive and slapping on a interface, how does one do that? That seems like a reasonable solution.
Will Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 07:52 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint John, CANADA
Posts: 633
lacie external hard drive 1000 gb
2 x FireWire 800 (9-pin) ports
1 x FireWire 400 (6-pin) port (compatible with iLink, DV)
1 x Hi-Speed USB 2.0 (compatible with USB 1.1)

buy it now price: US $689.99

http://cgi.ebay.com/LaCie-Bigger-Dis...QQcmdZViewItem

try to fill that in a day
__________________
video : xl2 / letus35xl / bogen 503
photo- canon 1dmkII - bronica etrsi
Andrew Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 01:40 AM   #12
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
FULL ON RANT - you have been warned!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Craven
You can get 40GB HDD units . . They are generally around £300 . . .
Alan, yes. At £300 this is STILL having a larf! And yes that would be the ticket. Once Solid state capture comes down in price, bectha gonna see these HD options crash through the floor!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Hayes
Graham, hey about buying a hard drive and slapping on a interface, how does one do that? That seems like a reasonable solution.
Where there is a "Will" ( apologies couldn't resist! ) - yes you are totally correct. Will, that is EXACTLY what I mean:-

Here's an 500gbHD: here's a PDA/GPS/PSP ( whatever, making this up .. plenty of pc power here I would have thought! ); here's a suite of Scopes/Vectors/Chroma Keying/Focus and WB setups to boot thrown in too! ! !

. .. see, if yous can think it, it is possible.

Hell man, we've had graphics and stuff on all sorts of tiny itsy bitsy thingies for at least a decade. I've got that wretched, totally addictive Backgammon on my Cheapo Cheapo cell phone for goodness sakes!!!

Just think of it: A 500gb drive PLUS Scopes PLUS Chroma keying stuff all for around £450 quid. Done! It will come . . . It WILL come!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Todd
lacie external hard drive 1000 gb . . . buy it now price: US $689.99 . . try to fill that in a day
Andrew, a man after my own heart here! EXACTLY! 1Tb = $689 = £370GBp plus change . . These things are costing very little. We are soaking up the costs for the ROI at the moment.

Yup, an all-in-one mission control centre for capture ( a "CCC" )IT IS GONNA COME! ! ! ! Maybe not for whirling discs but for solid state - has too, it just has too.


Now PLEASE don't get me started on the price for external MONITORS! That is just a complete joke! At present I can buy 3 x 19" superb LCD flatties for an equivalent price for an average pro external 7" monitor. MAD!!! Nope, supply and demand .. supply and demand.

Upset? Me? Nah . . just World weary . . . just World weary . .

Grazie

Last edited by Graham Bernard; February 1st, 2006 at 02:56 AM.
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 08:30 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 75
Graham,
I realize you are ranting, however ..... I do hope you are feeling better, for IMHO and based on my own rants, only us webites (new word! so maybe come up with a better spelling but I am very sensitive so no corrections ;-)) are willing to listen and offer possible solutions. Other than that rants, at least mine, never work.
Now as to monitors, only recently have the LCDs, the default ones with a package, come up to the point of being able to calibrate with any dirgree of accuracy. Us photographers still have to bite the bullet and at least get as close as possible to a fully calibrateable LCD and if one has the money use a CRT for the CRTs are the bench mark in graphics/photgraphy. Photographers may have gotten rid (I haven't) of the darkroom but we still end with an electronic equivilant for MUCH MUCH money. And now with camera manufactures encryping their algoriythms (sorry for the spelling) there is a potential down the road of not being able to print from MY "negatives". My solution is to shoot film and scan if needed.
It is forums like these that us creatives are able to survive and perhaps the manufactures will "get it". The internet does not allow the "bullies" to survive for long. Yea the bullies are out there, however they are quickly discovered and PUNISHED!
End of my Rant
Have fun, make films and continue to create is the solution.
Yours,
Tom
__________________
Tom Elliott - Photographer
http://www.tom-elliott-photography.com
Studio Phone: 305-251-4315
Miami, Florida
Tom Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 12:04 PM   #14
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Tom, I agree with everything you say.

Thanks

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network