GL2 and lav mic.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 9th, 2006, 08:50 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
GL2 and lav mic..

I have a question about the audio in settings on the GL2 when using a beachtek DXA 6....

I have my audio input on the GL2 all the way down, and made my adjustments on the DXA6 input. I monitor the camera display trying to get the audio peak just over or at the 12 or the larger dot, depending on which graph you're looking at.

Also, I was testing the WL184 lavalier mic the other day and hooked it up to my Beachtek DXA6 input. I keep feeling a "shock" from the clip or mic on my chest if I clip it on a t-shirt. Have you had any experience with that before? Is that mic new?

Do I have to change something? I've got the DXA6 set to "mic" with the power on in the left mic bank. Will the mono audio then be able to be edited to be mono=stereo on both channels? I'm supposed to start filming today. Actually, now that I've got a perishable product, I have to start today.

Thanks and have a great day,
joel
Joel Sommer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 05:55 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
I do not know the specific Beachtek you are using, but phantom power is about 48 volts DC, more than enough to feel. The 48 volts is on both "hot" mic leads, relative to the mic ground, and the mic ground should correspond to the camcorder case and ground as well. Sounds like you may have some odd leakage thorugh the mic and/or Beachtek, and a hot ground on the mic. Can you tell how the grounds are set/wired? Are they "lifted"?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 05:55 PM   #3
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
I understand that the WL184 has a TA4 connector. It shouldn't connect to the DXA-6. Are yoiu forcing it? I don't know how TA4s are wired, but it seems plausible that you might get a shock.

The DXA-6 puts out 48 volts. The WL184 only wants 5-10 volts.

By the way, don't turn the GL2's gain knobs all the way down and then crank up the input signal to the GL2 until you get -12 dB. That will give you distortion by overloading the input, and this will be undetected by the meters. Run the GL2's gain controls at 1/3 to 1/2 open.

To get a single mono mic in one DXA-6 channel to feed into both channels of the camcorder, put the DXA-6s M/S switch to the M (mono) position
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network