Which Tape Brand for GL2/XM2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2006, 11:55 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liss, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 67
Which Tape Brand for GL2/XM2?

Hi all - having fallen victim once to the "remove tape error", I now use just Panasonic AY-DVM63PQS as they seem to have good support.

However, they are expensive and I'm shooting on a tight budget with a major project coming up.

I was thinking of finishing up my four last Panasonics and switching to Fuji DVM60CME E - again which are well viewed but are a bit cheaper. I've been using them for stuff on other cameras with 100% reliability.

Views?

Thanks,

Paul.
Paul Grove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 12:10 PM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
. .and over my left shoulder are nearly 400 Sony DV Premium 60. I mostly, 96%, don't re-use tapes. Those I do, I use them to experiment with, or tape something from the TV on my Panasonic deck. I try NEVER to plop 'em back into my camera. 1.67 per pop? Not an issue.

So:

1/- Make a decision and stay with that brand of tape.

2/- Do a search here if you don't believe me!


Peace & Love


Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 05:26 PM   #3
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
I have three camcorders including a GL2, and I have always used whatever brand I had handy in all of them, always consumer grade. I also tape in LP mode sometimes, and I often reuse tapes.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 01:29 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
Like Graham, I never re-use tapes. Unlike him, my several hundred are all Panasonic DVM63PQ.

The one time I put another brand in the camera - a JVC as I recall - to test something for a friend, I had to use the head cleaner. I shall not repeat that mistake.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 04:21 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liss, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 67
Thanks for the replies so far all - like you I never re-use tapes, nor rewind/wind them in my GL2/XM2 - not keen to repeat another 250 bill!

Still unsure whether to switch (permanently) from Pannies to Fuji though.
Paul Grove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 10:25 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
I use Sony DV Premium 60. Brillient. I know film productions companies use them if they are shooting on dv.
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 12
I also use sony.
I don't re use them.
James Bright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 07:56 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
I use JVC M-DV60ME3HT tapes and still no problem.

I did find a place where I can get TDK Mini-DV tapes for a real good price. 8 tapes for $25 (CND).

Anybody wouldn't recommend TDK tapes or do I have a go!?
Julien T. Chartier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 02:29 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Tapes

I have used solely blue arapped sony premium 60. I do not reuse tapes.
I have never had a dropped frame from them. I have run 50 through my camera this year. They are economical. i bought two maxwells and only used one for 20 minutes and the data was fine, but I will stay with the one brand.
On my sony camcorder I used what ever i could get and did have some trouble.

Here is a site to get Tapes at a reasonable price!!

http://store.yahoo.com/protape/new-u...--mini-dv.html


Gus
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 02:56 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
NEVER USE JVC!!! if you look at the threads to do with the famous remove cassette error you will notice all these people use JVC tapes.

i thought you only get dropped frames when you move the camera around and the tape going around the drums gets distorted.
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network