Setting a GL2 for smooth slow motion replay at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2003, 11:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Setting a GL2 for smooth slow motion replay

After searching for some information in past threads, I'm resolving to start another new one.

What I want to know is if anyone has some good advise on how to set up a GL2 so the resulting video can be played back slowly and somewhat smoothly?
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 01:05 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 188
Good question

there have been a few threads on this subject. Do you want to just play back slowly, or are you thinking about using the timed sequence mode? You may want to try some stuff in frame mode as the interlacing won't be as visible. Let me know though and we'll try to get you the skinny!
Thanks,
Mark
__________________
I'm humbled by the greatness that surrounds me.
Mark Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 04:29 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I suggest to go in frame mode (due to not have interlacing
problems) and use a high shutter speed (so that you have no
or as little as possible strobing, softening and (motion) blur
in the image -> which can add after the slowing down if you
still want it)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 09:17 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Without too much technical explanation, as I am an engineer at work and hope not to be here, when is it most suitable to shoot in Frame Mode? When is it better to shoot in Normal Mode?

I have read on other threads that resolution is better in Normal Mode. This is confusing when Canon advertises that Frame Mode can capture every gesture...

If a technical answer is necessary, please feel free to go that route. Engaging my brain may not kill me.

Thank you.
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 12:21 PM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Well, talking about frame mode and resolution is difficult. Since
it can mean 2 or more things. The actual pixel resolution (ie,
720x480 for NTSC or 720x576 for PAL) will not change
ofcourse. However, the picture is being made from a lower
resolution (due to the tricks Canon uses to get frame/progressive
mode) then when you are using interlaced mode.

I personally never shoot interlaced (almost). I just don't like to
de-interlace etc. If you shoot for slow motion it is wise in my
opinion to shoot frame/progressive mode as well simply to not
have the difficulties of interlacing artifects when you are creating
more frames/fields to get the slow motion effect.

Other than that it mostly depends on preference and final distribution
media.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 01:04 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Rob, thanks for the quick reply.

On the subject of distribution media, my problems get a little bigger. The marketing of our program is predicted to be on DVD+R while the ultimate broadcast is planned for NTSC captured from a PC through an ATI 8500DV video card onto a Betacam.

Now if all that sounds like I know what I'm talking about, then a whale might sound like a dog.

I have become the organizer of a sizable project in which one ex-TV employee and a lot of college dreamers make up the majority of our tech crew. While the goal is broadcast, considerable work is beginning to make our product look good for DVD.

All that aside, I went home this morning and shoot some footage in Frame Mode with the Setup switched to -2 (two places to the left of center). It looked a lot better than the Normal Mode footage I have been taking. In fact, it did reduce the interlace artifacting which was disturbing in Normal Mode.

Having little doubt that you and others replying to my pleas for help know this camera (and cameras in general) better than I, please know that I am eager to read any hints you have to make the GL2's footage look great.

Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 04:08 PM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm a little "off" as to why you would want to output through
an ATI card onto Betacam. I would either go directly out of the
camera (you can edit and put your movie back on tape!) or
have it recorded off a GOOD DVD player. I would not go through
a display card, no way (there is a lot of conversion going on
here!).

Now I don't know much details about the GL1/2 since I myself
have a Canon XL1s. But the cameras are very similiar in what
options etc. they have.

If you shoot in frame mode ALL interlacing artifacts should be
gone since there is no more interlacing. What you might see
though is stairstepping (where a slant line or corner creates
a non-straight line) or motion blurring (etc.) due to a low shutter
speed.

I suggest you try shooting in frame mode at a 1/60th shutter
at 0 or -3 db gain. Keep the most things manual. See how footage
looks then. You can change the iris (f-stop) to compensate for
different light levels. I myself am a big fan of spending time in
post work to color correct the image etc. to further fine tune it.
You'd be amazed at what a little letterboxing (creating a wide-
screen looking image) and a bit of color fiddling can get you!

Good luck, if you want to know more search around on the topics
I mentioned or let me know.

Cheers!

p.s. if you shoot for slow motion it might we wise to increase
the shutter to 1/100th or higher depending on how much motion
is in the image. Try different shutter settings and slow each
movie down with the same settings (try to shoot the same
movement each time) and see what looks best! For "normal"
shooting I'd go with 1/60th or if light is a problem to 1/30th.
Don't go any lower or you'll start to get a "drunken" image (which
can be an effect ofcourse)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 04:31 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Thanks Rob. You have helped a lot!

The only reason we are considering capture to Beta tap is to have something most TV stations can use. What I am understanding is that stations are beginning to acquire miniDV capability, and we are probably 8-12 months from airing.

I thought long and hard about your Canon and the Pana DVX100, and my wife said no to both. For my FIRST miniDV, the GL2 is a nice start.

I really do appreciate your help,
Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2003, 04:34 PM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Brad,

If you are gonna air in that amount of time I'd worry about your
product first instead of what the final format will be. Changes are
that if a TV station wants they will accept miniDV. And if they don't
just bring your camera with the DV **BACKUP** TAPE and they'll
probably just hook it up to a betacam or digibeta and copy it on
there. Don't worry.

The GL2 is an excellent camera! Don't worry, it will give you
enough quality!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2003, 01:40 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Folly Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 7
surfing footage frame grab

Would you say it's best to use the frame mode when shooting surfing footage?
High quality grabbed frames are somewhat more important to me (so far) than the video itself. I'm a true beginner with this editing stuff!

I've had the GL-2 for two weeks... just waiting around for waves!

Thanks,
Nancy
Nancy Hussey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2003, 09:01 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
I think Rob is right to say that he almost never shoots interlaced. After doing some extensive testing, I too am a frame mode fan! The footage just looks better (subjective possibly).
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2003, 09:07 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
Hey Nancy,

I almost didn't notice your location. I'm from James Island. It really is a small world (for anyone interested, James Island and Folly Beach are separated by a bridge and a few speed traps).

These guys on this forum really know their stuff. Don't hesitate to ask them for help.

Your old neighbor,
Brad
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2003, 07:45 AM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Nancy,

If you are looking for nice and easy screen grabs I suggest
frame mode, because it will take away the problem that you
have to de-interlace the footage otherwise.

But the best piece of advice I can give you is to try both! Just
see how you like it and how easy it is for you to handle both
types.

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2003, 01:11 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Folly Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 7
Thanks y'all.. you're right, i will just have to play with it.

BRAD! I cannot believe you're from James Island. What a small world, huh?! How long since you've been home? If you get a little homesick, check out follysurfcam.com...keep in mind that I am NOT a photographer.. just a point and clicker :)

That having been said, I will read, read read all I can on here, and try to keep the embarrasingly dumb questions to a minimum.

Thanks for your help,
Nancy
Nancy Hussey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2003, 06:53 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 66
TV Stations using dv video

Any TV station that is a DVCPRO house can use Mini-DV tapes. Panasonic makes an adapter that will play the tape in the broadcast machines.

We do that all the time
Kevin Foristal is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network