Capture help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2006, 07:36 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
Capture help

Ok, i just picked up a gl2 the last weekend and so far I love it. I have a question (kinda noobish.) What program do most of you use to capture your video on your computer (vegas? premier?) And what way do you capture it? With what kind of cable and what type of capture card on your computer? I just want to know how to get it on my computer with hardly any quality loss. thanks in advance......
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 07:44 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Steven,
You'll need a firewire card and cable to capture your video from the camera.
You also need a capture programme on the computer. If you're running Windows XP, then you've already got Windows Move Maker installed (look under "Accessories") If you've got the latest Microsoft Service Pack then you should have WMM 2 - if not and you're still running WMM 1, then you can download the free update since it's got a lot of better features.
With the application, you'll be able to capture, edit, add music and titles and then export your masterpiece back to the camera, or choose to save it on the PC - or even upload it to a Web Video Hosting service such as Neptune.com.
WMM won't let you burn a DVD at this time, but there are a number of inexpensive DVD authoring programmes available.

Robin
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 11:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 41
Welcome Steven!

Robin is right - you'll need a computer with a firewire port and a DV-firewire cable (you can find this at any electronics store).

If you have a Mac then all you'll need is the cable. iMovie will let you capture anything you need, and is handy for basic editing. My advice is to mess around with your camera for a few weeks to get the hang of it, and import your footage into whatever program you like (Windows MovieMaker or iMovie) and get some basic editing skills. And keep checking out these boards...

Steve
Steve Sirinides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 06:13 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
thanks for the help guys, yea i have a couple video editing programs that I have experiance with--used them with my old sony handycam......any suggestions on specific capture cards that you use?
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 10:36 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Posts: 96
Watch out for "Cheap" capture cards

Hello Steven

When I purchased my GL2 I did not have a Firewire card for my computer. So after lightening my pocketbook with the camera purchase, I decided to get a cheap 4 port Firewire card from CompUSA. The card only lasted about 3 months before it would start locking up my system and not recognizing my camera. At first I was worried the problem was in my camera and not the "new" card I put in the computer. But I was able to test the camera on a friends computer and it was fine. So I purchased a name brand card and have been fine ever since. Just for my own curiosity I checked CompUSA's homepage about the card in question, and it was rated 1 out of 5 stars by other people who had purchased it. The biggest problem was the card would quit working only a few weeks after installation. Mabey I should have done a little more investigation before going "Cheap".

I'm all in for saving money, and I do have a couple of aftermarket batteries for the camera that I have been very pleased with. From now on I'll do a little research online before making even basic purchases.

Enjoy and good luck!
David L. Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 10:57 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David L. Holmes
Hello Steven

When I purchased my GL2 I did not have a Firewire card for my computer. So after lightening my pocketbook with the camera purchase, I decided to get a cheap 4 port Firewire card from CompUSA. The card only lasted about 3 months before it would start locking up my system and not recognizing my camera. At first I was worried the problem was in my camera and not the "new" card I put in the computer. But I was able to test the camera on a friends computer and it was fine. So I purchased a name brand card and have been fine ever since. Just for my own curiosity I checked CompUSA's homepage about the card in question, and it was rated 1 out of 5 stars by other people who had purchased it. The biggest problem was the card would quit working only a few weeks after installation. Mabey I should have done a little more investigation before going "Cheap".

I'm all in for saving money, and I do have a couple of aftermarket batteries for the camera that I have been very pleased with. From now on I'll do a little research online before making even basic purchases.

Enjoy and good luck!
thanks for the advise, so u know what brand and model ur card is?
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 02:53 PM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Steven: it doesn't matter. Any OHCI (!) compliant firewire card will do. Just make sure you get the right cable (a camcorder uses the smaller 4-pin connector, while a computer may use that or the larger (more common) 6-pin connector).

Just go to an electronics store get a cheap OHCI firewire card and they should be able to get you the right cable.

You don't even need to install any drivers, just plug the card into your PC (or if you can't do that yourself have a computer company install it) and off you go. Make sure your camera is turned OFF when you connect or disconnect it to the computer!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 05:43 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
one more question

ok, i got my videos uploading to my computer good now, just one more question, is there a special file type i should save as, or certain settings I can use on the camera so that I get the best picture quality out of it and not have any of these annoying lines on it?? i attached a video showing what I mean with the lines(look at the rider, how is body has a lot of small horizontal lines across it):

http://media.putfile.com/ttry

other link:

http://www.filelodge.com/files/hdd8/...406-183300.MPG
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 09:12 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 18
Steve,

I cannot get the links you posted to work, so I really don't know what you mean when you say 'horizontal lines'. However, what program did you use to capture the footage? Will the program let you adjust any settings?

-Devin
Devin Anderton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 05:50 PM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Steven: capture to DV AVI for the PC and DV QuickTime if you are on a Mac.

It sounds like the lines you are talking about is interlacing. Since you are in
the GL1/2 forum try shooting in frame mode. That should remove those lines.

A very short history: tv's are displaying the signal in interlaced, computer
monitors in progressive. If you watch interlaced footage on a computer screen
you will see lines. This will not happen on a TV (because it is interlaced). So
if your output is for TV there is nothing to worry about.

Usually interlaced is more associated with real-life looks / news etc. where as
progressive / frame mode is usually more associated with fictional work.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
ok thanks a lot guys
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2006, 06:29 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Dont shoot in frame mode, cos you loose resolution.
Instead try deinterlace in post with filter.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2006, 01:34 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
deinterlace?
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2006, 02:08 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Yes, blend fields together.
Almost every video editing program has this filter/effect.
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2006, 02:19 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: westbury, ny
Posts: 10
ok thanks----
Steven Lutz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network