60I for GL2? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 28th, 2006, 07:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 32
60I for GL2?

Just got my GL2, love it so far. I can easily set it to Frame Mode which is 30P. How do I set it to 60I?

Is that default if your not in 30P?
Steve Maisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 08:22 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Maisch
Just got my GL2, love it so far. I can easily set it to Frame Mode which is 30P. How do I set it to 60I?

Is that default if your not in 30P?
Yes, if frame mode is off, you're shooting 60i. Frame mode is not 30p, but a digital simulation thereof.
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2006, 04:40 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 32
oops double post.
Steve Maisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2006, 04:43 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 32
So if your looking for a film "type" look (I know, I know), would it be best to shoot in frame mode and render it as 24P/16:9 in Premiere Pro, or shoot 60I then render it that way?

I have heard it suggested both ways.
Steve Maisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 12:17 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3
Well, you can't really just "render" it to 24p in Premiere. You have to use a program to deinterlace the video and convert it to 24p and then you can edit in premiere at 24p. If you want to do this, you should film in 60i because converting 30p to 24p doesn't work very well.

Your best bet is Magic Bullet but it is very expensive.
Rami Ismail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2006, 04:02 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
if you go to the first menu on the gl2 it gives you the option between frame and normal, switch to normal and use magic bullet or the like to create 24p. i cant remember if the exact order of how to do things.
__________________
(Wishes to be more informative and helpful than a nuisance)
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network