Any way to hack the GL2? (3rd party software, perhaps?) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2006, 01:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Any way to hack the GL2? (3rd party software, perhaps?)

Does anyone know of any way I can hack my GL2, either via 3rd party software or otherwise?

I would love to be able to make my own interval recording settings for in the field, among other things (like making auto-focus' default mode = OFF, etc)
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 01:20 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Interval recording is already a very difficult proposition for tape-based camcorders such as the GL2. The DV tape transport chassis just isn't capable of single-frame recording. The best they can manage is roughly 15 frames at a time, and I've never been happy with those kinds of results for any sort of serious time-lapse work. Fortunately though you can always use a FireStore FS-4 portable hard disk recorder, which does have a single-frame intervalometer function built right in.

You're aware that switching from auto focus to manual focus on the GL2 is just a simple push of a single button, right?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 02:06 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Interval recording is already a very difficult proposition for tape-based camcorders such as the GL2. The DV tape transport chassis just isn't capable of single-frame recording. The best they can manage is roughly 15 frames at a time, and I've never been happy with those kinds of results for any sort of serious time-lapse work. Fortunately though you can always use a FireStore FS-4 portable hard disk recorder, which does have a single-frame intervalometer function built right in.
So, the smallest RECORD TIME is 0.5 seconds, which I am fine with... however i would love to be able to customize what the INTERVAL TIME is (0.5 seconds of every 10 seconds, or every 15 seconds, etc.), at the very least. Currently the choices are 30 sec., 1 min., 5 min., and 10 min., with record time choices of 0.5 sec., 1 sec., 1.5 sec., and 2 sec.

I don't have the $$$ to drop on a FireStore (or any other gear... just bought the GL2), but figure it may be possible to hack such settings with the right technology.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
You're aware that switching from auto focus to manual focus on the GL2 is just a simple push of a single button, right?
Yes, of course... but auto-focus is the lamest thing since the pet rock, and it is a complete nuisance to have to constantly switch it off.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 02:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
get a 35mm adapter, no auto focus there unless you spend big bucks!
__________________
(Wishes to be more informative and helpful than a nuisance)
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 03:07 PM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
GL2+Scenealyzer+Laptop = Time Lapse
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 03:43 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
GL2+Scenealyzer+Laptop = Time Lapse
What about just using a still camera?
__________________
(Wishes to be more informative and helpful than a nuisance)
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 04:19 PM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Johnson
What about just using a still camera?
Snappy! - And yes why not . . .
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 04:25 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
Snappy!
errrmmm.... ok

anyway, alot of canon cameras will hapilly do time lapse controlled by a laptop or pc.
__________________
(Wishes to be more informative and helpful than a nuisance)
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2006, 02:23 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
still photo for time lapse recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Johnson
errrmmm.... ok

anyway, alot of canon cameras will hapilly do time lapse controlled by a laptop or pc.
I just tried this technique this morning... both Photo based and video based to do a time lapse of a sun rise. The still photo method is a pain in the butt to set up (Using Vegas here) because still photo cameras do not match the aspect ratio of DV, so each and every one has to be cropped (can batch up the whole thing in PSP). Then all the transitions between the individual frames have to be set. Unless I am missing some great script for this (again, using Vegsa here).

jason
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2006, 08:35 AM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Using Canopus Rex Edit or Let's Edit, inserting and setting transitions between every clip on the timeline is a one-click operation. There's got to be similar scripts built in to the other major NLEs, right?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2006, 09:47 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
So, it's a "no", eh?

I'm taking it that the answer to my question is a "no". Or at least, not that anyone is aware of...

The alternate suggestions are helpful, at least in knowing what my limitations are with the camera.

Regarding the suggestion to use a still camera: it's not the same thing. True it may do if I was just interested in capturing single frames -- but what if that's not what I intend to do? There is more to time-lapse than just that! Depending on the subject, I like to capture a few seconds of movement. Perhaps I want 5 seconds recorded out of every 30 second interval... or 3 seconds out of every 5 minutes...

Honestly, I feel that the ability to customize my time-lapse settings (as well as set the auto-focus to always be off unless I explicitly turn it on) is something that should be possible and the lack of this ability is bad (or lazy) engineering. I shouldn't have to turn to a third-party piece of software to use on a laptop (which means more $$$ spent) to do something I should have been able to do in-camera in the first place.

This is a great forum and I thank everyone for their responses. I have been learning much from reading the threads here.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2006, 12:51 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
StopMotion software

As an FYI/footnote, since Scenealyzer was suggested:

It should be noted that, AFAIK, Scenealyzer is Windoze [sic] only. Mac users may be interested in Boinx' iStopMotion (http://www.istopmotion.com).
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."

Last edited by Mike Barber; July 4th, 2006 at 12:52 AM. Reason: typo in title
Mike Barber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network