Glitches in Audio and Video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 3rd, 2003, 10:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 68
Glitches in Audio and Video

I did a shoot with the GL1 yesterday, got home to edit and the video had many glitches and audio had many glitches, also when I ran another tape through the GL1 to edit the sound from that tape had glitches even after I cleaned with tape with head cleaner.

Does this sound like a technical problem or do the heads just need more cleaning, Any sugestions would be appreciated.

Thanks Dan O'Bannon
Dan O'Bannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 10:57 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
If these problems happened when you start and stopped recording, you might try doing both a pre and post roll. Also make sure that the tape is on a valid timecode when you record.

Another good piece of advice is stick to one tape brand.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 11:19 AM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Dan,
Be more precise about what you mean by "glitch".
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 04:10 PM   #4
Bob Petersen
 
Posts: n/a
Did you try a different tape? I once had a brand new tape that had a very minor repetative defect in the tape, and it caused dropouts in video and audio. I switched to Maxell tape and had no further problems.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 06:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 68
Thanks Guys, It is Fugifilm DVCassette. I use the Gl1 for my deck to import video into my computer. The tape that was shot on the GL1 has bad video and bad audio(audio cuts out and video gets black streaks through out the tape. When I use the XL1s for import using the tape shot on the GL1 the video and audio is still bad, so its either a bad tape or somthing is wrong with the GL1.

What do ya think??

Thanks, Dan O'Bannon
Dan O'Bannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 06:24 PM   #6
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Dan,
Try a new tape using the same brand. Be sure to leave plenty of lead-in. If it happens again you should send the GL1 to Canon for service. The heads and transport may need realignment. Be sure to send the "glitch" tape along with the camera to give the technicians an idea of what the problem may be.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2003, 10:39 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 68
Good advice Ken, Thanks!

Dan O'Bannon
Dan O'Bannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 10:50 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 68
Ken, I just remembered I blackend two tapes with the GL1 before the shoot. The tape shot with the XL1s was ok but the one shot with the Gl1 was bad, could blackening have any bearing on the situation, and is blacking a good idea?

Thanks again, Dan O'Bannon
Dan O'Bannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 11:31 AM   #9
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
By "blackening" I assume you mean recording black to get continuous time code on the tape?

I really doubt that that caused your problem. That's a very innocuous procedure that some people use as a safety precaution against time-code breaks. Personally I do not do this because (a) FCP3, my editor, has become much more forgiving of t.c. breaks, (b) I'm pretty darn careful with my tape handling procedures and rarely have a break, and (c) it imposes unnecessary additional wear on the record heads.

No, that additional bit of information continues to suggest that your camera may need adjustment and/or professional cleaning.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network