Can the XM2 really be HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 9th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
Can the XM2 really be HD

Hey people. Have any of you tried this. Putting Video on onto a editing program then export as a hd file so it will have the full 1920 x 1080, then put it onto a dvd then onto a hdtv. I have just done this and the picture quality is amazing. No lye. i compared the normal export soze of the xm2 which is something like 724 x 5.. (cant remember excact) i noticed that the picture quiality is much better and alot sharper.

I am seeing this for real. i even get better results if do chroma this way.
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2006, 04:53 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
It pobably looks better because the image limiting component in the system was the camcorder. Nothing else degrades it further on the way to viewing because everything else iis High Def so you see a virtually pristene image from the camcorder. If everythign was SD, each step along the way would detract a bit so you would see a lesser image at the end.
.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2006, 10:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
It all makes sence. if people were doing this with the xm2. i think they would be getting better quiality out of the xm2. also you get a better picture on SDTV if you did it this way
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 09:00 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
When you say "put it onto DVD" do you mean as a VOB or just put the file onto DVD as a MPG, MOV or WMV?

I imported a DV AVI, exported as 1920x1080 mpg then played them both on my widescreen LCD. It's only 1680x1050, so i can't get the full effect of the HD, but playing them both full screen, i couldn't notice any difference. Certainly no loss in quality, but i couldn't notice a gain.
Luke Sparke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 11:21 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taffs well, Wales
Posts: 190
I used DVD STUDIO PRO 4 Created a HD disc (put onto a normal 4.3GB ) played it back and i noticed a little better quiality on the TV. You will only notice much better quiality on the comuter screen.
Nathaniel McInnes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network