GL2 Manual Audio mode cuts sound... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 10th, 2006, 10:34 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 9
GL2 Manual Audio mode cuts sound...

Hi,
I'm new to the forum, but I was hoping to get some help concerning the GL2 we use here in our studio. We upgraded from a GL1 to a GL2, and I was looking forward to being able to level the mic inputs as I saw fit, more control is always a good thing, right? However, I noticed that when I clicked the Audio mode switch from "A" to "M", the audio goes dead. No matter where the knobs are, top, bottom, middle, NO audio comes through (the audio meter displays nothing, it's empty). I've checked my settings, the Mic attenuator is off, and I don't see anything that indicates that the manual mode should be disabled. Is this a problem or am I missing something? Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!!
Eric Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 10:40 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 96
Shoe?

Do you have anything mounted in the shoe? E.g. others have mentioned audio cutting out when the Canon VL3 video light is mounted in the shoe.

Are you trying to use the on-camera mic? If so, is there anything plugged into the mic jack on the camera?

Are you trying to use an external mic? If so, try using just the camera mic as a test.

Is there sound via headphones?

Grasping for straws:
Don't have my GL2 here to check it, but I wonder if you have the GL2 in Easy Record mode (displays green rectangle). In that mode there is very little if any manual control functionality. And so maybe manual audio does not work in that mode?

If you have an external mic connected, does it have a mono or stereo 1/8 " jack for plugging into the camera? Maybe it makes a difference?
__________________
Mike Donley
Mike Donley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 01:00 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 9
Hi Mike, thanks a lot for the response! To address your questions :

-I have nothing in the shoe. We occasionally use a wireless receiver for our microphones that sits in the accessory shoe (just to mount), but this happens whether the shoe has anything in it or not.

-I've tried this using both the on-camera mic and an external mic. 90% of the time, we're filming from the on-camera mic, but again, this issue arises no matter what input we use.

-There is no sound through the headphones when the manual mode is engaged, unfortunately.

-I tried both easy mode and manual mode as far as the visual settings are concerned, again, the audio goes dead whenever the Manual Audio mode is set.

-We usually use a stereo, two-channel receiver whenever we use microphones.


I know I should have looked into this earlier. When first attempting to use the manual mode and seeing no audio, I thought that there was some other setting I wasn't aware of and told myself to check the manual at a later date. The manual says this method should work and it isn't, so I'm now thinking I have a problem with the camera.

Thanks a ton for the response!
Eric Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 07:50 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Is it set to line input level by any chance?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2006, 01:37 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 9
Hmm, I'm not seeing that setting in my camera. I looked through the recording settings (under "VCR") and the mic mode is set to normal, mic attenuator is off, but I didn't see anything pertaining to a mic or line input.
Eric Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2006, 05:37 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Apparently the line level only aplies when in audio dub mode or something like that.

At this point I would give Canon a call.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network