interval timer questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2003, 10:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 197
interval timer questions

anyone have experience using the interval timer? any suggestions for successful projects? I'd like to play with it a bit. grow a bean sprout...shoot some clouds moving across the sky...anyone have suggestions for starting points in terms of interval timing settings for these kinds (or other) experiments?
__________________
on the Internet, when you get where you're going you still don't know where you are
Bud Kuenzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 10:56 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fowlerville, MI
Posts: 51
I've only tried it once. I just set it up in the house and let it run for about 90 minutes. I believe I had it set for a 2 second recording time at 1 minute intervals. Anyway, I imported it into iMovie, and ended up with a PILE of clips. Every 2 second recording time imported as a separate clip. I suppose it makes sense the way it imported, but it sure doesn't make me want to play with that feature much anymore :)

Kirk
Kirk Messner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 11:01 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 197
pile of clips

select all the clips and drag them to the timeline and it should play just fine...I'm hoping it doesn't create an actual time break between takes or it will be a pain to import into final cut pro.
__________________
on the Internet, when you get where you're going you still don't know where you are
Bud Kuenzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 11:03 AM   #4
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
You must be talking about the GL2? I don't believe the GL1 had the interval setting.
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 11:10 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 197
yes...

yes, I'm referring to the gl2
__________________
on the Internet, when you get where you're going you still don't know where you are
Bud Kuenzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 11:42 AM   #6
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Bud,
Interval-timer shots import just fine into FCP. Unlike iMovie which assumes that you want each shot separated into little clips, FCP will capture a clip continuously. There are no time code breaks (of course, as long as you don't feel compelled to see the results before it's finished and fiddle with the tape position <g>).
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 08:35 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waterville, NY USA
Posts: 83
I seem to have a problem with interval timing....I can play it back thru my GL-2, but it refuses to capture, using Vegas 4. It worked a while back, the first time I tried it. Now it won't. It's a tape I've record over several times- could an errant time code be the culprit? Any ideas?
__________________
If the quality of mercy is not strained, then how do they get the lumps out?
George Brackett III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2003, 12:00 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 197
time code

of course a time code problem is a possibility but I use FCP so I'm not familiar with how vegas handles time code. you might try capturing sections of the tape instead of the entire tape. If it is a time code issue you may be able to figure out where the problem is and capture around it.
__________________
on the Internet, when you get where you're going you still don't know where you are
Bud Kuenzli is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network