GL2 VX2000 DV pass through at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2003, 12:30 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2
GL2 VX2000 DV pass through

Hey everyone,

I am finally going to replace the classic camera I have with a new DV camera. One important aspect of my work is using analog source.

I have been leaning towards the GL2 for my work but I have been unable to ascertain if the GL2 functions as a DV pass through.

I recently upgraded to a new MAC and have been using the Sony DV conversion box. However, I am ready to put it to pasture. I will buy the VX2000 if the GL2 does not have pass through because I have verified that the VX2000 has pass through abilities.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Dan McCay
Dan McCay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2003, 12:44 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waterville, NY USA
Posts: 83
I've got a GL-2, and although I don't use it for capture or editing, I have tried the pass-thru function- seems to work OK.
__________________
If the quality of mercy is not strained, then how do they get the lumps out?
George Brackett III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2003, 12:45 PM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Dan,
I assume that by "pass-through" you mean the ability to pass an analog signal to dv and vice-versa. If so, the answer is yes, the GL2 can do this.

In doing your research, you may find the actual GL2 users manual handy. You can find it, as well as manuals for Canon's other cameras, on Canon's site.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2003, 01:05 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2
DV Pass through

Thanks for the responses. By DV Pass through I mean using the camera in the following manner.

VCR- Use RCA cables to input into the camera.
Camera- receive analog signal, convert it to DV signal and output through firewire to my computer for capturing. I would like to do this without having to record onto a DV tape. I just want a straight pass through conversion to the computer.
Computer- Captures DV signal via NLE program (FCP).

Dan
Dan McCay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2003, 01:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
Dan,

Yep, sure does!
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2003, 04:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 453
Sure it does. I used that function a few times.
Cosmin Rotaru is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network