Lost audio sync when capturing GL2 tapes with Pana GS200 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2007, 02:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 83
Lost audio sync when capturing GL2 tapes with Pana GS200

Just a warning for those of you looking to protect your GL2s by capturing on other camcorders. I repeatedly had problems with the captured DV suddenly losing audio sync by 13 frames well into a tape, for no apparent cause, when capturing on a Panasonic GS200. But the same tape capped using the GL2 was fine.

This happened on a Mac Pro with FCP 5.12-5.14 using the Capture Now command. I think I capped GL2 tapes successfully without loss of sync on a PC before suing the GS200 but those may have been total captures shorter than when the loss of sync appeared on the mac. Captures on the PC were done with Scenalyzer Live (great program).

I got replies on other forums suggesting that I have to use the GL2 to capture because of weak TC track info. And that I should leave tapes at the end of the recording inthe GL2, enter capture mode, mark clip out, rewind all the way to start, mark clip in, and do a batch capture of one clip.

I've stopped using the GS200 to capture the GL2s tapes.

--Shayne Weyker
Shayne Weyker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2007, 08:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 82
I have used my old trusty GS200 with my gl2 for some time now.. the gs200 ran fine as the deck....

Just make sure your on the same speed(im sure you are) thats odd... try a different tape maybe.

Let me know if you figure anything out.

~Mike
__________________
~ Mike
Michael Ferreira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2007, 10:00 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central North Carolina (Raleigh, Durham, & surrounding areas)
Posts: 301
A few years ago, I had problems capturing ANYTHING shot with my GL-1 unless it was played back with that GL-1. I sent it off to Canon, and they cleaned it, aligned it, and replaced some tape drive parts. Everything's been fine since.

I don't know if this info will help you, but I thought I'd just throw it out there.

Good luck,

Mark
Mark Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2007, 10:42 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 83
I did send the GL2 to service for another issue and they adjusted and cleaned it but the same sync problem when capping from the gs200 happened after servicing the GL2 as well as before.

Since the gs200 is out of warranty I'm not going to get it serviced to see if that fixes the problem.

One guy on another forum says his shop captured for years from several GL2 and had no problems with the mechanism wearing out. So I'll take my chances.

--Shayne
Shayne Weyker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network