Original Optura Wont Work in XP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Canon Optura Junior Watchdog
High-end affordable consumer 1-CCD camcorders. PAL users invited!


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 15th, 2004, 07:59 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Original Optura Wont Work in XP

I have the original Canon optura from 1997. The cam works fine.

However, when I connect it to my PC via the Firwire card, the Pc just does not see it. Nothing. Zilch.

Is anyone out there using the original Optura with XP, and if you are, what Firewire card are you using?
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 08:24 PM   #2
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Maybe it's a driver or NLE software issue, or a cable issue.
Frank Granovski is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 08:42 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Canon optura Problem

Hi Frank.

Well, I can d/l still pics to the pc, so I know it isnt the fireware port, or the cable.

At forst i thought that it was becaise my Pc had the Texas instruments 1394 chipset on the card, but I have TWO XP machines with different 1394 chipsets on the cards and the Optura was not recognized by either one.

I was told by someone that the Firewire port on the Opturs is not a standard one. That sucks.
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 08:51 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Some early Canon cameras did not fully comply with the FireWire standard. Some software will have several levels of FireWire support to accommodate the early cameras. Apple, for example has FireWire Basic and FireWire protocols. If XP doesn't have different levels of support, I think you may be out of luck.

What software are you using to capture?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 08:58 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Canon

Hi Jeff.

Thanks for posting.

I have heard what you said about the early Canon DV cams from others.

XP just doesnt see the cam in anyw ay so the capture SF isnt going to work and it doesnt.

I have Ulead, Premeire 7 and Windv and none of them see the cam.

Any ideas?
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 09:06 PM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Microsoft would need to write new FireWire drivers that included support for the Optura. I don't know if earlier OS versions would have supported it. If you have a friend with a Mac you could capture the video that way. Then network the two computers with an ethernet crossover cable and transfer the footage over the network.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 09:08 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
uugghh

UUGGHHHH

Well thanks Jeff.

It looks like I have to get a new DV cam.
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
Old February 15th, 2004, 09:37 PM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I seem to recall that this camera could be edited on PC systems of it's era (1997). You may need to seek assistance from the manufacture of the FireWire card. It may me that newer OS's and software don't support this camera any longer.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old February 16th, 2004, 08:05 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Card

Hi Jeff.

Well, I dont think the PYRO folks are going to be able to help me.

I have a hunch that I would need a different Firewire card altogether. But which one is the mystery. Finding out info on this camera is like harder than learning Nasa secrets!!

Let me ask you this...this cam has pretty crappy low light performance. One of the primary things I need to use a DV cam for is shooting bands live at clubs....where its very low light.

What DV cam would you recommend for excellent Low light performance?

thanks!!
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
Old February 16th, 2004, 09:19 AM   #10
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Several of the Sony's are regarded as having very good low light performance. You might want to post the question in the Open DV Forum or in a camera specific forum.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline  
Old February 16th, 2004, 10:02 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
ok!!

Ok, thanks Jeff.
Mike Arcidiacono is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network