Optura 40 won't capture firewire & dropouts at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Canon Optura Junior Watchdog
High-end affordable consumer 1-CCD camcorders. PAL users invited!


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2004, 01:42 AM   #1
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Optura 40 won't capture firewire & dropouts

I was trying to capture straight from my 3 week old Optura 40 to my notebook and Vegas would hang 3 seconds into capture. I tried 3 firewire cards to no avail. Then I started to suspect something else. When I got back to my studio, I tried swapping cables and then capturing to my main PC - it captured for 60 seconds before hanging on both my firewire controllers.

I then put the tape in my JVC edit deck and whole tape captured without a problem except I noticed a few white dropouts plus-minus 10 seconds from around 7 or so scene changes.

Is this camera defective or something else going on? This is my first adventure in consumer cam land, so don't know if this is normal or problematic.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
Old July 23rd, 2004, 05:34 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
That does sound odd.

Did you try fully fast forwarding / rewinding the tape before capture?
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old July 23rd, 2004, 05:59 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,864
Images: 513
I wish I could have a notice read by everybody that buys a new DV camcorder, to run a head cleaning cassette *before* you ever put the first tape through it.

Try cleaning the heads. Five seconds with a cleaning cassette.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline  
Old July 23rd, 2004, 08:32 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
It sounds like you have a problem with the camera.


I am running straight into an Adaptec firewire card, Compaq Wxxxx workstation with SCSI drives using Adobe Premeire Pro.

Ran the same camera through a Dell Dimension 1.8 ghz machine through an ATI all in one wonder card's firewire inputs on regular ATA drives and again no problems no drop offs.
Hoy Quan is offline  
Old July 23rd, 2004, 10:24 AM   #5
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
I'm confused - what's the logic is running a cleaning cassette before running the first tape? I have never done that with a camera before, although I have only owned pro dv cameras. My new DVX100a has no dropouts whatsoever - it does have self-cleaning mechanism.

Is this for low-end cams or all cams? And why would that have anything to do with lockups during capture. There are no dropouts on the tape at the beginning - they don't come into the tape until theirs a scene change. And then only a one brief flash of a couple of white specs - no audio glitch though.

I'm not convinced dirty heads is this issue.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network