Manual exposure on Opturas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Canon Optura Junior Watchdog
High-end affordable consumer 1-CCD camcorders. PAL users invited!


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2005, 04:17 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,644
Manual exposure on Opturas?

Reading at camcorderinfo.com it seems that none of the Opturas have the ability to indpendently set the aperture and shutter speed. Is this really true? If so it's a shame because I was seriously considering this line.
Marco Leavitt is offline  
Old July 25th, 2005, 05:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 115
It is true. You cannot set aperture and shutter independent of on another on Canon's consumer-ish camcorders. However, you can do an exposure lock and use the slider bar to set exposure giving you the setting you want, but you don't know what f-stop or shutter that sliding bar really is. Only the GL1, GL2, XL1, XL1s and XL2 give you full manual controls.

This manual exposure problem shouldn't be an issue because Panasonic's, JVC's and Sony's consumer camcorders all have the same "problem". What consumer camcorders (<$1499) actually give you full manual controls?
Xander Christ is offline  
Old July 25th, 2005, 05:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 493
Panasonic DV-GS400 at around $1250 street price gives you full manual controls (independent exposure, shutter, zoom, focus, white balance on easily accessible external buttons and ring). Also, manual picture adjustment controls for contrast, saturation, sharpness, and exposure. Exceptional manual controls.
__________________
Owner/Operator, 727 Records
Co-Founder, Matter of Chance Productions
Blogger, Try Avoidance
Joshua Provost is offline  
Old July 25th, 2005, 07:32 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,644
There's also the Panasonic PV-GS19 which offers independent manual settings for shutter speed and aperture for about $300. However, there's no audio meter, mic input or even headphone output (I guess, why would you need it?).
Marco Leavitt is offline  
Old September 4th, 2005, 07:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Leavitt
Reading at camcorderinfo.com it seems that none of the Opturas have the ability to indpendently set the aperture and shutter speed. Is this really true? If so it's a shame because I was seriously considering this line.
They had this ability on the first Optura and discontinued it I believe, on the following model and haven't re-intoduced it since.
If you want these things, plus progressive scan (gives you a 30fps look) get the original Optura from Ebay for around $100.00 for a clean example.
I have 2 of them and they are awesome.
Eric Brown is offline  
Old September 9th, 2005, 11:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Leavitt
Reading at camcorderinfo.com it seems that none of the Opturas have the ability to indpendently set the aperture and shutter speed. Is this really true? If so it's a shame because I was seriously considering this line.
I set shutter speed and just lock (and adjust) exposure. Yeah, you don't get the #, but honestly, I've found the aperture setting doesn't really matter with a camera w/ a nano-sized CCD in the first place (messing with aperture isn't going to do anything to DOF - just not large enough to really matter). I wouldn't be suprised if somehow the software for aperture control is really nothing more than just controlling gain. *shrug*
__________________
PAL shooter in NTSC territory
Patrick Jenkins is offline  
Old September 9th, 2005, 12:03 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,644
I've since bought an Optura 60, and I agree with you, the exposure scheme isn't as bad as I had feared. The worst part is you have no way of preventing the camera from applying gain. Can't say I agree about the aperature making no difference though. You can certainly affect the depth of field. The biggest problem is if you use filters. You can't use a Black Frost filter with a small aperature.
Marco Leavitt is offline  
Old September 9th, 2005, 08:30 PM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,862
Images: 513
Shutter priority plus exposure lock does in fact give you full manual control on the Optura camcorders. No it won't display what the f/stop is when shooting in Tv (shutter priority), but the exposure control is indeed there. I agree that the biggest drawback is the lack of control over gain.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > Canon Optura Junior Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network