Getting better focus with the HV20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2007, 01:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Getting better focus with the HV20

I shot a feature with the HV20, and one of my biggest problems was focusing. Is there some portable solution out there for getting better focus with the HV20? Thanks.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 03:10 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Were you using a 35mm adapter ?


Check this post out thread out for a focusing wheel.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=100119

Or this is one with concept I was testing:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=98909

If you are talking about being able to see the image when you focus, I actually have better luck using view finder.

With my 35mm adapter, I use a 7 inch SD DVD player with video input. I can get it pretty close....but others swear you need an HDV monitor.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 03:23 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 22
Also, don't forget that you have a Focus Assist on your camera. It's the STOP button on your LCD. It helps when trying to get your focus exact.
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein
http://www.youtube.com/grumtek
Aaron Grumtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Grumtek View Post
Also, don't forget that you have a Focus Assist on your camera. It's the STOP button on your LCD. It helps when trying to get your focus exact.
I completely over looked this, thanks. This is perfect.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Focus assist is okay for set ups, but if anything is moving requiring follow focus, you can't use it because it doesn't engage while tape is rolling.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:42 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Focus assist is okay for set ups, but if anything is moving requiring follow focus, you can't use it because it doesn't engage while tape is rolling.
Are there any solutions for the moving shot? When not using a 35mm adapter?
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 22
A good manual control over your focus and a bigger LCD..
__________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein
http://www.youtube.com/grumtek
Aaron Grumtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:44 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 129
hopefully no more out of focus video again.

I'm going to purchase this solution myself:

http://www.ikancorp.com/pages/monito...d/included.htm

I'm so danged upset at the slightly out of focus I've been having happen to me lately. I shot about 12 hours of live music performances on stage last week and I noticed quite a bit of the time my cameras focus locked on a sign about 10 feet in back of the artists that had sharp lines plus text. I didn't catch it until posts. That's not going to happen to me again if I can help it.

I know the above solution is about a $750 to $800 but I don't want to be shooting out of focus ever again if I can help it. My only decision will be, where I purchase this monitor at.

My toolbag is getting heavier people.
John Hotze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 10:16 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 407
I just took a quick glance at the specs. That monitor is barely above SD specs. It's certainly not HD! You could get an inexpensive portable DVD player with an external input that should do about as well. Also, I see many monitors in the 19" range for $150 or so. Look in the TV section of the store as well. Just make sure it has the needed inputs. If you need battery operation, get an inverter.

Good luck!
__________________
Dave
David Kennett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network