Canon HG10: download 24p video clips - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2007, 05:49 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Munich Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich View Post
Heinz, i have sample from Panasonic AVCHD cam with these parametras:

file type : TS
video stream type : AVC/H.264
resolution : 1440x1080
profile:level : Main:4.0
...
Interesting...

All PANASONIC AVC Cameras I know use high profile (HP@L4). This may be one of the reasons why the footage from PANASONIC or CANON cameras is not supported by Vegas (SONY cameras use MP@L4). Someone in this forum said that the new PANASONIC FullHD camera generation (SX5, SD5) uses 13 MBPS with CBR. I cannot believe this, it does not make any sense.
Heinz Bihlmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 07:55 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz Bihlmeir View Post
Interesting...

All PANASONIC AVC Cameras I know use high profile (HP@L4). This may be one of the reasons why the footage from PANASONIC or CANON cameras is not supported by Vegas (SONY cameras use MP@L4). Someone in this forum said that the new PANASONIC FullHD camera generation (SX5, SD5) uses 13 MBPS with CBR. I cannot believe this, it does not make any sense.
Ulead videostudio claims they support AVCHD. So maybe that's an alternative even though not as powerful but good enough for most.

Otherwise you could convert but quite a hassle and you have to make sure it doesn't result in quality loss.

Not an expert on real-time encoders but seems CBR would be much easier to do.
I wonder how these real-time encoder decide it can lower the bitrate in a scene (since in theory more is always better).
Luc Fender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2007, 10:58 AM   #33
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz Bihlmeir View Post
Interesting...

All PANASONIC AVC Cameras I know use high profile (HP@L4). This may be one of the reasons why the footage from PANASONIC or CANON cameras is not supported by Vegas (SONY cameras use MP@L4). Someone in this forum said that the new PANASONIC FullHD camera generation (SX5, SD5) uses 13 MBPS with CBR. I cannot believe this, it does not make any sense.
Try samples from Sony SR7 and Panasonic SX6
http://www.archive.org/download/hdv_...sr7_02.MTS.mpg
http://www.archive.org/download/hdv_...cx6_02.MTS.mpg

Both Sony SR7 and Panasonic SX6 had similar parameter of streams MP@L4.
Vegas7e can import those streams no problem.
Only HP@L4 samples produced by Canon HG10 impossible edit within Vegas7.
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2007, 07:10 PM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Munich Germany
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich View Post
Try samples from Sony SR7 and Panasonic SX6
http://www.archive.org/download/hdv_...sr7_02.MTS.mpg
http://www.archive.org/download/hdv_...cx6_02.MTS.mpg

Both Sony SR7 and Panasonic SX6 had similar parameter of streams MP@L4.
Vegas7e can import those streams no problem.
Only HP@L4 samples produced by Canon HG10 impossible edit within Vegas7.

File cx6_02.MTS.mpg is from a SONY camcorder (CX6 Memory Stick Camera). Btw. the new PANASONIC camcorders use a FUJITSU codec, which supports high profile HP@L4.0 but no PAFF and MBAFF. I don't know what codec the CANON camera is using (inhouse design or third party part).
Heinz Bihlmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 02:11 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Heinz, sorry, my mistake. I've mixed SX5 (Panasonic) with CX6 (Sony).

Thank you for clarification.
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 09:01 AM   #36
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Popphoto.com:

http://www.popphoto.com/photonews/44...-controls.html

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 06:53 PM   #37
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 18
iMovie 24P

does iMovie 08 work with HV20/HG10 24p or just 30?
__________________
"The real trouble with reality is there's no background music." grifmusic.com
Pat Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:18 PM   #38
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Bruner View Post
Well, users of the Vegas editing software will be disappointed. I have verified that Vegas 7 won't edit these files...just like Vegas won't edit Panasonic AVCHD...thanks Austin for posting the raw video. Plus, Sony has announced Vegas 8 to be shown at IBC won't edit any AVCHD except Sony's version.
Opening just fine in Vegas 7e for me, Guy.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 08:31 PM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Not opening for me in Vegas 7e, DSE.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 07:42 AM   #40
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Spot, if you are opening Austin's raw AVCHD files in Vegas 7.0e, something else is at play. I'm using Vegas 7.0e Build 216, which I believe is the latest update. I have tried opening all the raw files that Austin has posted here and none open irregardless of whether the file extension is MTS or M2TS. This is the same behavior I get with Panasonic AVCHD files. If you are successfully opening and editing the raw AVCHD in 7.0e, I'm willing to accept something is wrong with my machine. Suggestions on fixing the problem are appreciated. Here are the errors I get from Vegas when I try to open or import these files:

Last edited by Guy Bruner; March 21st, 2008 at 05:57 AM.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 09:59 AM   #41
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Fender View Post
How does the built-in mic compare to the HV20? Does it record camcorder noise similar to the tape mechanism (and buttons) of the HV20?

Thanks
Luc
I haven't shot with the HG10, but can say that there would be no transport noise. I'd expect the buttons to make noise, and on a couple of Austin's clips (thanks for those, BTW) the buttons cannot be heard well, but can be heard. Same with the Sony CX7. On a tripod it's dead silent. The HG10 is likely the same.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle View Post
I haven't shot with the HG10, but can say that there would be no transport noise. I'd expect the buttons to make noise, and on a couple of Austin's clips (thanks for those, BTW) the buttons cannot be heard well, but can be heard. Same with the Sony CX7. On a tripod it's dead silent. The HG10 is likely the same.
Which clips can you hear the original audio? I tried a few but the audio are all overdubbed in those. The clips on watch-impress unfortunately always have this loud chirping sounds (crickets I assume).

That sounds very promising since that's the biggest thing I hate about the HV20 (and fixing appears overly complex if you're only interested in casual shooting). Also from what I've seen the AVCHD decoder works well enough now for my taste (the test clip from watch-impress is pretty good).

By the way I tried to play the MTS file from watch-impress and I can see the problems at this point. I wasn't able to load the file in the programs that claimed compatibility. But I think that's temporary.
Luc Fender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 11:00 PM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Bruner View Post
Not opening for me in Vegas 7e, DSE.
I'm having issues also with the same version of Vegas
Ian G. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 07:50 PM   #44
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Bruner View Post
Not opening for me in Vegas 7e, DSE.
Like Guy I can not open any of Austin's raw AVCHD files in Vegas 7.0e, Build 216. Tried with the file extension MTS and M2TS.

I have no problems opening raw AVCHD files from the Sony HDR-SR1.



Rich
Rich Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 10:14 PM   #45
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 73
I had no problem converting them to Cineform Intermediate using HDLink...
Michael Eskin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network