An HG10 and FCP 24p question... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2007, 12:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 55
An HG10 and FCP 24p question...

Hi there,

My workflow has been thus: Take footage shot in the HG10's 24p mode, run Log and Transfer, the transcoded footage ends up being ProRes 1440x1080 at 29.97. I take the ProRes footage and apply the Compressor step that changes the frame rate and performs the Reverse Telecine, outlined here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306389, originally written for HV20 users).

I recently noticed in FCP 6.0.2's Log and Transfer util, there's a "Remove Advanced Pulldown and Duplicate Frames" import preferences box (checked by default, see pic): http://www.seanmccormick.biz/outbox/HG10/log.gif

How does the above setting affect the incoming footage shot using 24p? Is the Reverse Telecine step in Compressor unnecessary, making it only necessary to change the frame rate after importing the files?

Thanks in advance for not beating me over the head with the answer if I'm missing something obvious here. :)

Any thoughts welcome,

Sean
Sean McCormick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 09:40 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
from the stuff i've dealt with the "remove duplicate frames..." is for removing frames that have been "flagged" as duplicates, such as dv footage what was shot 24PA, otherwise it won't effect hv20/hg10 footage because it isn't flagged.
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 55
Gotcha. So what your saying is, the HV20/HG10 cams don't use Advanced Pulldown, so the setting does not apply and some sort of post-transfer pulldown removal method is still going to be required.

Thanks for the post!

Crazy weather we're having, no? We had a fire going last night and today I went jogging shirtless.


Sean
Sean McCormick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 12:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks for the clarification on the workflow. Man, Apple and Canon need to make this a little less obtuse. This feels like configuring Windows device drivers or something! :-)
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 01:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Maller View Post
Thanks for the clarification on the workflow. Man, Apple and Canon need to make this a little less obtuse. This feels like configuring Windows device drivers or something! :-)
Is there anything special I need to do for Windows/Pinnacle Studio 11+, HG10?

Any good things to read to get up to speed?

-------new below-----
google is fast - they knew about this post in under 1 hour..damn..that's smokin.

An HG10 and FCP 24p question... - The Digital Video Information ...
An HG10 and FCP 24p question... AVCHD Format Discussion. ... Is there anything special I need to do for Windows/Pinnacle Studio 11+, HG10? ...
dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?p=795404 - 38 minutes ago

Last edited by Brian W. Smith; December 19th, 2007 at 02:20 PM. Reason: google speed comment
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 01:11 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 55
As Canon probably intended the HG10 to be for the "point and shoot" crowd, the current lack of nitty-gritty documentation is not terribly surprising.

Another early adopter penalty I suppose. I'm glad it helped ya!




Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Maller View Post
Thanks for the clarification on the workflow. Man, Apple and Canon need to make this a little less obtuse. This feels like configuring Windows device drivers or something! :-)
Sean McCormick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 03:38 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Smith View Post
Is there anything special I need to do for Windows/Pinnacle Studio 11+, HG10?

Any good things to read to get up to speed?
This seems like a book that might be worth reading.


http://safari.adobepress.com/1592005993

24P: Make Your Digital Movies Look Like Hollywood
by Pete Shaner; Gerald Everett Jones
Publisher: Course Technology
Pub Date: 2005
ISBN: 1-59200-599-3
Pages: 252
Slots: 1.0
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 03:35 PM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1
Late, but related. Does anybody know why I can't log & transfer in Apple Pro Res 422 HQ from my HG10? Only Apple ProRes 422 SQ. In that preference window noted earlier I can set P2 Plugin to transcode to HQ, but not the AVCHD plugin. Any idea?
Petter Ringbom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2008, 12:52 AM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
I noticed that as well, but i done remember seeing the hq setting for p2 either... The biggest thing I've noticed is the color on the sq stuff is just a hair flatter, crispness doesn't seem to be affected.
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network