HG10 and Samsung DLP 720p w/HDMI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2008, 09:24 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
HG10 and Samsung DLP 720p w/HDMI

I was excited about my new camera until I found out that I could not view my videos through my Samsungs' HDMI input. I was able to view it 2 times out of 50 tries of unplugging/plugging 2 different HDMI cables from the camera to the TV, but I have not been able to have the same luck again.

Why is this happening? Is the implementation of HDCP for 2005/2006 DLP not working with 2007/2008 equipment?

Any clues?

Fortunately Costco has a 90-day return policy, so I got 70 days to think about that.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 09:56 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 165
If it worked two times out of 50, then it sounds like an intermittent malfunction with either the TV or camera, or perhaps a firmware bug in the TV. I assume it's not the cable since you tried two cables..

The camera is probably not using HDCP, so that's not likely to be the cause.

I would try it on another TV before returning the camera, in case the problem is with the TV.
Dave Rosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 10:09 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
Good point.

I did try connecting an old upconverting Samsung DVD player through HDMI and it worked fine. I did try my new DirecTV HR20 and now this camera with no luck. It seems that there are some incompatibility issues.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2008, 10:56 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 165
That's interesting. I tried googling the HR20 and HG10 and the only thing of any interest that turned up was this thread. If there seem to be a lot of devices that don't work with the camera, then it could be an electrical or connector problem in the camera, in which case maybe you do need to exchange it. Of course, if it still doesn't work, then it's probably an incompatibility.
Dave Rosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 09:30 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Do the component cables work from the HG10?
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 09:51 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
I have not tried that route. I would assume it does work, but my idea was to avoid using 5 cables. My DLP already has 2 component inputs in use; if I pursue that route, I will need to downgrade one to use regular A/V inputs.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 10:47 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Zamora View Post
I have not tried that route. I would assume it does work, but my idea was to avoid using 5 cables. My DLP already has 2 component inputs in use; if I pursue that route, I will need to downgrade one to use regular A/V inputs.
Is this the TV Model?


http://www.parkaveelectronics.com/pr...LR5667W&l=more
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 10:51 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Smith View Post
Yes, Samsung HLR5667W
I got it in Jan 2006.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 10:58 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Zamora View Post
Yes, Samsung HLR5667W
I got it in Jan 2006.
someone else is having a problem connecting to 720p tv via hdmi:

http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7594_102...sageID=2742877

some chit chat here about using component instead or converter:

http://www.amazon.com/review/R3IVVLNPE24W2S

wiki info on hdmi standards:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

Last edited by Brian W. Smith; April 8th, 2008 at 10:59 AM. Reason: wiki link
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 11:32 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Smith View Post
someone else is having a problem connecting to 720p tv via hdmi:

http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7594_102...sageID=2742877

some chit chat here about using component instead or converter:

http://www.amazon.com/review/R3IVVLNPE24W2S

wiki info on hdmi standards:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Thanks for the information.

My DLP has these input support:

1080i (HDTV),
480i (SDTV),
480p (EDTV),
720p (HDTV)

I was hoping that the HG10 @ 1080i would cause no issue with my TV through HDMI. As I said before, it worked a couple of times already.

I dont wanna shell out additional cash right now for a 1080p TV. I might workaround it using component.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 12:40 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Zamora View Post
Thanks for the information.

My DLP has these input support:

1080i (HDTV),
480i (SDTV),
480p (EDTV),
720p (HDTV)

I was hoping that the HG10 @ 1080i would cause no issue with my TV through HDMI. As I said before, it worked a couple of times already.

I dont wanna shell out additional cash right now for a 1080p TV. I might workaround it using component.
Is it the order of turning things on/plugging them in that was different?
Brian W. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2008, 12:45 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Smith View Post
Is it the order of turning things on/plugging them in that was different?
Not really. I tried disconnecting from the back of the TV and reconnecting. After several tries I did see video. I wiggled it to see if it was a connector issue, but that did not break the signal at all.
Oscar Zamora is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network