Upgrade HV-30 software to solve SD problems? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 19th, 2008, 08:22 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 64
Upgrade HV-30 software to solve SD problems?

I have, as many othters, noticed the severe stair-stepping problem with HV30 (PAL) and SD. The footage is not usable at all. Too bad since the HDV footage i exellent for a camera at this pricelevel.

Would it be technically possible to upgrade the software in the camera to solve this? Then I think we as consumers should demand from Canon to do it at no cost, since they have cheated us on the SD on this camera.

Kind regards Erik
Erik Palm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 02:37 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 82
There is no software in the camera.

If you're having problems, post a sample along with the settings you use.
Tsu Terao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 03:14 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Palm View Post
I have, as many othters, noticed the severe stair-stepping problem with HV30 (PAL) and SD.....

Kind regards Erik
What ' many others ' are you referring to ? Where has this problem been discussed before ?

I ask because, I just recently purchased the HV30 ..

Actually I don't plan to record SD, but it would be good to know of any pitfalls ..
Gregory Gatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 02:07 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Erik...............

Can't help with the HV30 issue, but could you click on "Contact Us" at the bottom of the page and update your location details.

It really is unnerving typeing to an ethereal ghost.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 07:07 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsu Terao View Post
There is no software in the camera.

If you're having problems, post a sample along with the settings you use.
Actually, there is a ton of embedded software in these cams and (most) electronic devices. The DigicII processor uses it and there is also firmware code in these cameras. I suspect the original poster was referring to a firmware update that might alleviate the problem. As for the problem, I have seen it discussed in other forums, as well. There does appear to be a legitimate problem with at least the PAL versions of the HV30.
Rick Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2008, 06:58 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
HV30 PAL stairstepping

Never quite sure what references to other sites are allowed here on DV info but here is one which is relevant to this thread:

http://dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=135131
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 12:17 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 64
I have been in touch with Canon in Sweden, they confirm a problem, but say Canon Europe is looking at it.

I thought we could use some consumer power and demand, say a firmware update if it would solve the problem. Since HV-20 doesn´t have the problem, it should be possible to fix the HV-30 right? Or does any of you experts know better?

Kind regards.
Erik Palm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 12:18 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post

It really is unnerving typeing to an ethereal ghost.


CS
Sorry Chris, I didnīt know location was mandatory.
Erik Palm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 04:04 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 32
Here we go ...

http://nl.canon.be/Support/Consumer_...7&page=1&type=

For Mac users: copy the download-link and change the .exe at the end to .dmg – otherwise you will only get the windows version.
Martin Steimann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 07:44 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Thanks Martin for that link.

Perhaps someone who has one this successfully could let us know since updating firmware isn't reversible.
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 09:05 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 129
If the problem doesn't exist when shooting in HDV why not shoot everything in HD and let your NLE output SD resolution. It's been pretty well established that SD is better quality when you let your NLE do the conversion rather than the software in the camera. The only downside would be if your software or hardware restricts you from captureing HD and in that case, why would someone purchase an HD camcorder in the first place.
John Hotze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 12:07 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 32
Yes, shooting in HD would have helped a lot. Unfortunately I had to finish a 4:3 SD project which I started with my HV20. I would have had to crop the picture on both sides, kind of impractical.

But with the new firmware everything is back normal. The PAL HV30 now performs without a flaw in SD.
Martin Steimann is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network