Capturing from HV30 using FCP 5.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2008, 12:19 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 386
Capturing from HV30 using FCP 5.0

Hey guys/gals,

I've just purchased an HV30, which is awesome for the money by the way, and now I sat down to capture via firewire using my Mac and FCP 5.0 (not 5.1). I looked at the easy setups and found that there are only setups for 1080 60i, 1080 50i, and 720 30p. I recorded my footage using the cinemode 24 fps. I'm assuming that my version of FCP might be too old to natively capture this footage from my HV30. Am I assuming correctly or is there some way (not too complicated I'm not really good with this sort of thing and doing all kinds of wacky settings) to capture the footage?

Is there some sort of a 3rd party tool I can use to capture and then bring it into FCP? I was reading some of the posts here regarding this and found a nice tool called HDVSplit but that doesn't seem to do what i need it to. I did read somewhere online that oddly enough Windows Movie Maker captures from the HV30 quite well and was thinking about going that route as well.

The thing is that I have stopped editing my film projects for good now and I wont be upgrading my FCP software. I just wanted to do some basic editing of my HV30 footage. Any ideas?

BTW - I did search extensively on this question on this site as well as external sites and I failed to find anything on it. Thanks for your help with this!!
Adam Rench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 04:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 386
Does anyone know this? I'm sure someone has captured from the HV20 or HV30 into Final Cut Pro. I really need some assistance with this. Thanks! Is there some sort of a how-to out there that I couldn't find or something?
Adam Rench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 07:09 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
use pc - sadly this is only way work for me

Hi
use pc - sadly this is only way work for me.
download the HDVsplit or CapDVHS and work like charm.
bring it to OSX, m2t files and use Mpegstream to open m2t files and convert to codec u like.

if u search there are some software on MAC like HDVxDV or DVHSCAP ( not the same as CAP DVHS) that suppose to work and capture the HDV.
i find my Hactintosh and Imac both dont work well with HDV but ok with DV thru firewire.

so it might be the case.
JY
John Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2008, 08:28 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 386
okay so am I getting this right then?

1. Capture the footage on a Windows computer using this tool HDVsplit - http://strony.aster.pl/paviko/hdvsplit.htm

2. Then copy the M2T Files onto an external hard drive and then bring them into the Mac.

3. Convert the M2T file into a format (codec) that Final Cut Pro likes, like DVDPRO HD using mpegstream - http://www.squared5.com/ (download the Mac one)

4. Open up FCP and right click on the project window where you see all the files and stuff (top left window) and choose import - that's when you choose your new converted footage.
Adam Rench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 05:09 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
choose codec as u wish

hi there
well it works for me as FCP support on m2t is still very limit. and sadly none of the capturing software works on my mac.

in mpegstreamclip, u choose quicktime or whatever fcp supports ( i wonder what else besides quicktime) and most important is choose codec.

i use AIC or uncompress if files are not so big.
for sound codec i usually to wav or aiff.

BTW, if u find there's sync issue, as i sometimes find in longer clips thats might have out of sync issue. try to sync it with virtualdub ( sorry, only on PC) this is easy as u need recompress the video.
good luck
JY
John Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2008, 10:42 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 386
Thanks a LOT for the advice John. And thanks for the good luck wish haha.
Adam Rench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2008, 10:12 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
I haven't been here or done any editing for quite some time so I might not be up on all the latest techniques, but all that extra encoding sounds unnecessary to me and it's probably going to degrade your image quality. I thought the ideal workflow was to capture in FCP using the 1080i60 preset, and then perform the pulldown on the clips (60i-24p) using Compressor (FCP6) or JES De-interlacer (FCP 5 and below). I've never done this, only read about it on here, so maybe someone else can confirm this workflow.
Chris Harris is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network