HV-30 LANC Support at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2008, 10:00 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Side Cleveland
Posts: 68
HV-30 LANC Support

Just wondering if I saw a posting here regarding Stereo Sync ung a LANC support such as the;http://www.digi-dat.de/produkte/inde...tml#stefraLANC
Christo Aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 12:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
I don't believe any of the consumer grade Canon camcorders support LANC.
So nice product, but you would need something closer to the XH-A1 to get LANC support.

Scrolling down I did notice they have an adapter for the new(er) Sony camcorders,
going from Sony's Advanced Video Connector to the older 2.5 mm LANC connector.
150 EUR! That's what, about $225 USD? For an adapter? I'm flabbergasted.

Reread the web page. The price is for a pair, which brings the price/unit down to ~$112.
But at least it breaks out a composite signal for a monitor.

Last edited by Bill Koehler; June 25th, 2008 at 12:20 PM. Reason: Reread the web page.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 10:52 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Even without the LANC controller, you can use a $3 optical cable to router your remote control to function as a LANC remote.

http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=94890
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 10:59 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,242
Concerning the Optical Cables, it's a great and affordable solution in my experience. Could you not get it to work for you by buying/making some sort of splitter for the remote signal? As far as I know, HV30 remotes are not paired with a particular camera, meaning if you took the signal from one remote and split it into two fiber optic ends pointing at both cameras, both would react to the single remote.

Just an idea, and a DIY one at that, but it might be worth a try due to its affordability.
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 04:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 309
Hi All,

I've used the "split the signal" option for controling two Cams, and for using two IR Remotes controling one Cam - on my DIY "Dual Extendable Control Handle" set ups.

Both options work fine for me.

Harold
Harold Schreiber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network