Using my HV30 as a webcam at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 29th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
Using my HV30 as a webcam

I hope i dont get spanked for doing a double post, but I have tried to no avail as some of the previous post have suggested to set my HV30 up as a webcam. What could i be doing wrong?

I have the camera in the Tape mode
CAmera Mode
Dv Lock on
Hoooked into PC via firewire

I am able to capture video directly to my PC so i am assuming everything is okay, I just cant use it as a webcam. I have tried in both SKYPE and Yahoo.

When it asks me to select the camera i select Canon DV device.

Suggestions?
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2008, 02:08 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Stanfield, NC
Posts: 10
I have a used a program called DVdriver:

http://www.trackercam.com/TCamWeb/dvdriver.htm

that allowed me to use my sony hdr-hc3 hdv camcorder as a webcam. It was not HD of course, but it was beautiful! Other than that option, I have had no luck. Hope this helps.
Robbie Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2008, 11:39 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ruhland View Post
I hope i dont get spanked for doing a double post, but I have tried to no avail as some of the previous post have suggested to set my HV30 up as a webcam. What could i be doing wrong?

I have the camera in the Tape mode
CAmera Mode
Dv Lock on
Hoooked into PC via firewire

I am able to capture video directly to my PC so i am assuming everything is okay, I just cant use it as a webcam. I have tried in both SKYPE and Yahoo.

When it asks me to select the camera i select Canon DV device.

Suggestions?
Programs like Skype only work with USB webcams. Yahoo may be the same. As was suggested, there are some intermediate driver programs that you can download which will fool the software into thinking the camera is a USB camera when in fact, it's firewire.

Oh, and be sure to remove the tape because the camera will shut down after a few minutes to avoid damaging the tape. You'll get a flashing warning in the VF for no tape, but it won't be on the output firewire live image.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network