how to record directly from HDMI in the field at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2008, 11:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
how to record directly from HDMI in the field

Is there any device smaller than laptop to record to it directly from HV30 HDMI in the field??? I am PC not Mac.
Another question: is it possible to record raw 30P footage via HDMI? (in their brochure thay say it is 1080i...)
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 01:54 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 75
Im looking into this

but to be honest you wont find anything smaller than a laptop with;

1. enough battery time to record
2. enough CPU power, RAM speeds and hard drive space to manage anything near what you need
3.laptops themselves cant handle HDMI input at the moment, so something smaller would be no chance
4. leading back to 1. and 2. you wont be able to run a program that can capture the images at the resolution you require, premier and vegas at 1080p would require some power.

but this is my solution.

instead of something "portable" i am creating something "movable"

basically, get a DJ turntable flightcase and build a normal computer into it (Q6600 or above, 4GB RAM and external drive aray) and take a generator with me on location then capture HDMI live out of the camera directly into the PC using premier pro and cineform (not sure which yet, prob 2k) to record at 1080p

that seems to be the best solution if you are looking for my kind of results

im afraid with about 18 months of research, theres nothing smaller that can handle that

if anyone can add more to that....
David Braund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2008, 02:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
thanks for your response; re: my second question - is HDMI capable of providing 1080P (if shooting in 30P mode)??? according to Canon web site it says 1080i???
Marius Boruch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2008, 03:30 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

depends your camera and the capture card and the codec and the speed of hardware.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network