30P with HV30 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 3rd, 2008, 01:02 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
30P with HV30

Was curious for an answer on a simple question....

I know you need to pull down for 24P footage...

do you need to pull down for 30P footage ???

Thanks
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 01:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
The answer is no because the 30p is over 60i. The frame rate will work into a 1080/60i project.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 02:49 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quite correct, there is no pulldown required for 30p.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 04:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
For Chris

Chris,

So here is my question. Is the 30p from the hv30 the same as 30p from the Xh-A1? I tried to use both in a multiclip with fcp and it said they were different codecs. The XH-A1 was a 108030p clip while the hv30 was a 108060i clip. Is the only way to match the codecs to record at 108060i?

Jon Schwartz
CA Video Productions
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 08:07 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
The HV30 records in the standard HDV 1080i format and not Canon's (framerate)F format which is a modified HDV stream with true progressive scan. However, the two fields displayed together form a progressive image. Just change the properties of the 1080i clip to "No Fields (AKA taking away the field order)" or something similar to make it a 1080p clip. Or, render out a 1080p intermediate by taking away field order to use in a timeline with your XH-A1 footage.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 10:04 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
Remove Fields

Jack,

Thanks! I will give that a try next week. I was able to go into the 108060i basic set up and change fields to none. Hopefully that will work.

Jon
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network