Canon HF100 - 60i/30p Questions! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2008, 02:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Posts: 27
Canon HF100 - 60i/30p Questions!

I have been looking at every link I can but I am still not clear how the camera shoots 30p. (And how this will then work in my final cut pro)

Apparently, the camera shoots in 30p but it is still actually "wrapped" in 60i? Is this correct? I do not understand this. So, if I do shoot in 30p, what happens when I do the "log & Transfer" into Final Cut Pro and start to edit. Am I getting 30p?

Can anyone EXPLAIN this to me?

Thanks!

Larry
Larry Silverberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 81
Yes.. This cameras records the 24f and 30f shots of 60i... When we Log and Transfer on FCP, we have to convert to Apple Pro-Res. (this setting is automatic.)

After converted, the file is shown on FCP like this:
1980x1080 29,97 fps, pixel aspect: square, Apple Prores 422 17,7Mbits/ sec...
__________________
Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HDR-FX7 / Canon HG-21 / MacBook Pro 2.4GHz / LG Blu-Ray BR06
Marcelo Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2008, 06:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Posts: 27
thanks marcelo,

sorry but i still do not understand. are you saying that final cut pro brings in the 30p as 60i and transfers into 30p again?

can you explain?

larry
Larry Silverberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2008, 08:02 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 81
As far as i know, the file type (original of canon) will be always 29.97 intrelaced (60i)m the 20f or 24f is simulation only...
__________________
Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HDR-FX7 / Canon HG-21 / MacBook Pro 2.4GHz / LG Blu-Ray BR06
Marcelo Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2008, 09:18 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kalispell, Montana
Posts: 164
Hi,

I don't have a Mac (nor FCP, of course), but you can remove pull down of the HF100's (and HF10's) Frame Rate (24F) using TMPGEnc - Products: TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress Product Information. My guess is that most folks who have Macs have the the PC software, and TMPGEnc Xpress is great conversion software. I realize that you are using Macs, but there is software that allow you to use PC programs and this is a good one to get.

I posted the settings for converting AVCHD to HDV in this thread http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/hdv2-cano...-settings.html. I haven't seen any significant loss from AVCHD to HDV, certainly not enough to warrant not using the conversion. The 24P is silky smooth, far more film-like than most I see in typical applications that drop frames.

You'll end up with a actual 24P product, too, assuming that FCP can edit HDV in a 24P MPEG2 Transport Stream (my guess is that it can).
__________________
Mike Gunter
VideoTidbits.com
Mike Gunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2008, 10:14 PM   #6
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo Lima View Post
... the 20f or 24f is simulation only...
You should do some reading about pulldown. The 24p is real. However like ALL film, 2-3 pulldown is added so it can become 60i video. After conversion you need to use Cinema Tools to remove the pulldown. So read your Cinema Tools manual.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 06:40 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
30P is stored on the tape in 60i because that is the only way data can be stored on tape. When you understand what 30p and 60i are, you will understand that.

It matters nothing that 30p is stored in 60i format on tape. What matters is that the camera captures all the lines of resolution every 30th of a second in 30p. When you capture it into Final Cut or whatever, the image data is the same. Just setup your Final Cut for the right format and it will take care of it.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 06:47 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Mullen View Post
You should do some reading about pulldown. The 24p is real. However like ALL film, 2-3 pulldown is added so it can become 60i video. After conversion you need to use Cinema Tools to remove the pulldown. So read your Cinema Tools manual.
For sure! I know very little about pulldown and this stuffs...
One question: If my final products will be video the best way to use 24f is leave the canon video files (60i) at the same way that is recorded...and edit normally??? Thanks..
__________________
Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HDR-FX7 / Canon HG-21 / MacBook Pro 2.4GHz / LG Blu-Ray BR06
Marcelo Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 08:51 AM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo Lima View Post
This cameras records the 24f and 30f...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo Lima View Post
...the best way to use 24f is leave the canon video files...
Actually 24P, not 24F. There is no visual difference between the two, but it's important to understand the terminology. Because of the way it works, 24F requires a three-chip camcorder. The Canon VIXIA product line, including the HF10, HF11 and HF100, are single-chip camcorders which record 24P.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 01:40 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Actually 24P, not 24F. There is no visual difference between the two, but it's important to understand the terminology. Because of the way it works, 24F requires a three-chip camcorder. The Canon VIXIA product line, including the HF10, HF11 and HF100, are single-chip camcorders which record 24P.
I have a CANON HG-21 and it shows on display 30F or 24 F,....PF30, PF24...
__________________
Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HDR-FX7 / Canon HG-21 / MacBook Pro 2.4GHz / LG Blu-Ray BR06
Marcelo Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 04:11 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 47
Mike Gunter,
even if your eye doesn't note any significant quality difference, is never a good idea 'transcode' a lossy long gop format to another lossy long gop format (avchd to hdv).
There are others alternative better and faster (only spatial codec that is intra-codec or loseless codec..). You only will need more space on disk but today a large hdd is not a problem since it is cheap.

ciao!
Lorenzo Asso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2008, 08:07 PM   #12
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Actually 24P, not 24F. There is no visual difference between the two, but it's important to understand the terminology. Because of the way it works, 24F requires a three-chip camcorder. The Canon VIXIA product line, including the HF10, HF11 and HF100, are single-chip camcorders which record 24P.
I think the difference really relate to CCD (which for Canon has been used for 3 chip camcorders) and CMOS (which for Canon has been used for 1 chip camcorders). The CMOS chips are running at 50P (for 50i), 60P (for 60i), and 24P, 25P, and 30P.

However, it seems Canon is still using "F" for 24P, 25P, and 30P.

I suspect they do this because they have a history of two types of progressive RECORDING: as Progressive and as Interlace. By saying 24F they are not saying HOW the chip is readout, but HOW it is recorded. It is a tip that 2-3 pulldown must be removed to get to 24p.

PS: Of course, there is still the question on HOW the 3 CCD chips running in "interlace mode" obtains video that has equal vertical to 3 CCDs running in "progressive mode." This is where Canon first introduced "F" to stand for sensor technology that was not "progressive."

Recent tests of deinterlacing in HDTVs show that a REALLY good deinterlacer can obtain 800-lines (from 1080) even under motion. Which matches my memory of what Canon delivers in F-mode. This is a great deal more than the 540-lines from discarding alternate fields. (Chris, is this correct?) By the way some HDTVs are sooo bad they deliver only 300-lines of V rez. when there is motion. Amazingly bad electronics.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 10:48 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
But has Larry's question been answered? What sequence preset does he use (FCP) to edit the 30p footage and retain it's 30p (non-interlaced) look?

My question: if I use Toast 9 to transcode the mts files into ProRes, what settings should I chose for video shot in 30p? (I want no signs of interlacing)
Thanks guys.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 03:08 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Posts: 27
Hi Steve,

Well, I talked with a guy at B&H photo where I just bought my HF100 (will arrive in two days) and all he said was that was whether you shoot in 30p or 60i, Final Cut Pro's "log and transfer" will recognize the footage and bring it into the timeline in the correct manner. I guess that's all i really need to know. i look forward to trying it out.

On another note, I looked at your airbrush website and man you are amazing! I saw a few of the videos and seeing you paint freehand with an airbrush was incredible, really!

Thanks,

Larry
Larry Silverberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2008, 06:35 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Thanks Larry, much appreciated.
I was interested in your thread as I too was curious as to the ProRes Transcode settings for 30p footage.....and wanted to use Toast 9 to convert directly, instead of FCP's L/T utility....but I'll have to do it via FCP til I get the correct settings for 30p with the HF10/100's AVCHD footage.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network