Hv30 firewire connector not responding at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2009, 11:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 40
Hv30 firewire connector not responding

Possible camera damage, is there any thing else that maybe causing this?
Was working this morning and now after some use, nothing. Not recognised on my pc. If the firewire cable is broke:
are there any alternatives to getting the footage captured?
Is it a big job to get fixed?
Gary Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 02:15 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England
Posts: 444
If the pc does not bong when the cam is switched on it is not recognising the cam, you could try reinstaling the software and if that does not work get a new lead.
The easiest way to prove that there is nothing wrong with the cams firewire output is to try it with some other equipment.
Martyn Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Try replacing the firewire cable with a new one (they are cheap), before doing anything else.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 323
I had a $100 firewire card zap out, replaced it with a $9 one, and things are perfect--try cheap!
Galen Rath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Try another cable and another computer. If you plugged a 6-pin cable into the machine after you plugged the 4-pin end into the cable you could have let the magic black smoke out of the camera's interface. Swapping computers and cables will tell you if that's the problem.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Angelo Texas
Posts: 1,510
The most common cause of this is failing to power down both cam and computer before either connecting or disconnecting the firewire cable. Firewire is supposed to be hot swappable but in actual practice camcorders can be very sensitive and the ports in the cams get "fried".

If you take the advice to try another computer, do both of you a favor and power down both before plugging in or unplugging anything.

One employee "fried" the ports in 5 professional camcorders, one after another, trying to get one to work. Very expensive repairs on those.
Bruce Foreman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network