the hsf10 or hsf100? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 20th, 2009, 06:04 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 23
the hsf10 or hsf100?

Was thinking about going with the hsf100 but it only using cards makes me leery. The reason being a friend of mine has a hd cam using cards. A older one,he shot a scene and the card failed. Now knowing this friend he probably used the bargain card. Dont know if that makes a difference? and if I decided on the hsf10 is the 11 a that big of a change? your thoughts thanks
Anthony Auci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 03:55 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
I use the HF S100 and have had no trouble with cards. I only use Class 6 and record at the highest bitrate.
I can see no advatage in even considering changing to the HF S11 - there's not enough difference to warrant it...
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 48
Ditto. I chose the HF S100 over the HF S10 because a) it was cheaper and b) the internal memory is more difficult to access than a card, since the camera has to be connected to a computer.

Like Robin, I only ever record at 24MB/s and haven't had a problem yet. I only use 16GB class 6 cards of reputable origin; Bytestor, Transcend and SanDisk Extreme.
Stuart Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 07:08 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 20
Add one more vote for HF-S100 from me. 24MB/sec recording works great and that bit rate plays back on my PS3 with no issues. Which was a surprise. However using a mini-HDMI connector directly to TV for viewing is wonderful as well. I'm very pleased with the camera so far.
David M. Spell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 08:35 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 23
thanks guy I ordered the hf s100 today:)
Anthony Auci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2009, 06:25 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 20
Just one thing and I hope you already know this - but you'll need a powerful computer to deal with AVCHD. My PC workflow is:

record to cards
use $9 card reader to offload files
transcode files with Cineform NeoHD
edit in Premiere Pro
or edit in Avid (but that's an additional transcoding step)
output to MP4 and view on PS3 or upload

Eventually I'll be burning to Blu-Ray but no burner yet.
David M. Spell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 12:59 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 477
I have the HFS-10, and am generally happy with it, save for the somewhat awkward interface and menu. Between the HFS-10 and HFS-100, I opted for the '10 as I was going to China and thought the built-in hard drive would possibly give me a litle more flexibility. It may have, but....I also have an HMC150 that I use to earn a living with now, and have never missed its not having a built-in hard drive. So there really needs to be something more than the built in drive to justify the price differential, in my mind anyways.

Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't the HFs-11 give you an option to attach a Lanc control? I thought you could add an accessory device that would alow use of Lanc control devices. Depending on what you shoot, that may be significant.

Last edited by Steve Wolla; October 25th, 2009 at 01:09 AM. Reason: added info
Steve Wolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 01:15 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Wolla View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't the HFs-11 give you an option to attach a Lanc control?
That's correct, but there are also suggestions that it'll work on the HF-S10/100 too, although I haven't seen any first hand reports yet.
Stuart Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 05:56 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
I understand that it will work with the HF S10/100.
Anyway, I've got one on order from B&H Video in New York, so when it arrives next week, I'll be in position to confirm!
If not, watch this space or e-Bay!!!
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 01:44 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 477
If by "it" you are referring to the module that allows Lanc connection to the HFS-11, the answer I got from Canon at Duigital Expo was no, it will not work on HFS-10, 100.
Steve Wolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 08:11 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 58
The LANC adapter will work on several newer Canon models with some possible minor issues...
Xian Messerschmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 08:21 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
The LANC controller has just arrived - and it's working fine with my HF S100.
Zoom, on/off, - and even more importantly, focus!!!
That last function alone is worth the money for me. It'll be much easier to manually focus from the pan bar.
I haven't tried it with an external mic yet, so fingers crossed that there aren't any audio issues. I'll get back later with more results.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 08:33 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 43
Are you using the ZR-2000, or....?
Kevin Bjorke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 09:21 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Yes, but I also use the Manfrotto 523Pro normally and that's fine as well...
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2009, 12:45 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chester, UK
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Davies-Rollinson View Post
Zoom, on/off, - and even more importantly, focus!!!
That last function alone is worth the money for me.
Oooo... how fast is the focusing Robin? Is it possible to do focus pulls, or is it still a case of twiddling until your finger drops off?
Stuart Robinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network