Anyone Using a Vixia HF series for Professional work? - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2010, 02:29 PM   #46
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 190
Thank you for pointing that out. I did not realize the Vixia's had explicit shutter speeds. They do not display when manually adjusting the exposure in [P]. I'll have to change my approach (use TV Shutterprio.ae?).
Christian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 05:19 PM   #47
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: tampa fl
Posts: 92
The only time I can view shutter speeds is on playback of the video , when put on display mode.
Roy Beazley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 06:30 PM   #48
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Personally I never use any mode except Tv so that I can hold shutter speed constant (usually at 1/60 for 30P or 60i; 1/48 for 24P .... doing this requires the use of an ND filter in bright conditions). Shutter speed remains visible at all times in Tv mode.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 10:33 PM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: tampa fl
Posts: 92
can you set the shutter speed on its on?
Roy Beazley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 10:44 PM   #50
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Yes, in Tv mode you set the shutter, and the iris still varies automatically (unless you also choose to lock exposure, in which case both shutter and iris remain fixed).
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2010, 03:59 PM   #51
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: tampa fl
Posts: 92
Graham what camera are you using? I don't see a Tv mode on my HR-10....
Roy Beazley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2010, 10:21 PM   #52
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Vixia HF10
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2010, 08:12 PM   #53
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: tampa fl
Posts: 92
Ahhhh there's the difference....thanks Graham....$800.....out of my range right now...maybe soon...

Tony B.
Roy Beazley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network