Question About HV40's MPEG format at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 29th, 2010, 10:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 213
Question About HV40's MPEG format

I want to purchase a Canon HV40 to use with my existing Canon XH A1 and Adobe Production CS3 Suite.

Does the HV40 use the same exact file format for HDV/MPEG as my XH A1?

I want to make sure I can use Premiere Pro/AE CS3 and HDVSplit with the HV40, just like I do with my XH A1.

Anyone know? Thanks.
Deke Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 05:16 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
I don't know if it's exactly the same, espescially with regards to the cineframe/24p mode but you'll definitely still be able to use it with CS3 and HDV split. Furthermore, you should be able to playback/capture footage shot with the XH-A1 on the HV40, which will save your heads from a bit of wear and tear.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 08:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brevard, Florida
Posts: 77
I have an XHA1s and 3 HV40's and they match up well when capturing and converting to cineform. That's the only way I've ever done it, so I don't know what they're like to edit mixed in their native outputs.
John Kilderry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2010, 12:11 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ithaca NY
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke Ryland View Post
I want to purchase a Canon HV40 to use with my existing Canon XH A1 and Adobe Production CS3 Suite.

Does the HV40 use the same exact file format for HDV/MPEG as my XH A1?

I want to make sure I can use Premiere Pro/AE CS3 and HDVSplit with the HV40, just like I do with my XH A1.

Anyone know? Thanks.
I use the Xh-A1 and 3 HV30's. Native format is identical and once the color preset is tweaked for the A1, the footage is indistinguishable in well lit environments. Quality of the footage from the HV30's falls off quickly in low light..
Jay Jelliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2010, 12:28 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 15
I'm in the UK and use an HV20. I also have a Sony FX1e. HDV tapes from the Sony play in the HV20 with no problem. HDVSplit works, and both Premiere and Vegas accept the files.

Colour from the HV20 is inaccurate in low light, but maybe the HV40 is better.

Still, the HV20 is a great camcorder.
Ken Darling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network