HV-10 and a Intel/Mac not seeing each other? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2006, 12:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
HV-10 and a Intel/Mac not seeing each other?

Hello all...

I am so happy to finally have the Canon in my hands and sadly I have yet to be able to get my computer to see it.

Firstly the cable is USB!

Why USB for a HD cam is beyond me.
FINALCUT and Imovie both use Firewire to capture from.

Also on the box it says "Proper operation is not guaranteed on PC with INtel/duo core.

Wow , there are alot of new computer out this this chip and more to come, that seems like a huge amount of people to slap in the face.:)

Has anyone gotten this configuration to work?

Need help desperately!

TIA
Luc Meisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 12:25 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
The front has three accessory jacks and the AV in/out jack.

The component-out mini jack which hooks up to a breakout cable and the Firewire HDV / DV-out jack.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 12:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
The USB cable (along with the included Canon software/driver disk) is only for the still photos feature, not for video. That's pretty standard (I think only Sony has some feature for (low-res) video capture/stream over USB2.)
BTW, I found using a USB2 card reader (w/ mini-SD card adapter) is MUCH (many times) faster than using the usb2 cable for offloading pics.

You need to buy a firewire cable.
David is correct, the DV/HDV mini-Firewire plug is on the front access panel, not the back.

No idea about the DuoCore comment, maybe they just mean the Canon (still) software eg ZoomBrowser etc haven't been tested on dual-core yet.
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 01:08 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Wow no firewire cable to cpature the video, well that spoils the out of the box experience.

This isnt the usual firewire cable that some people have in their houses, is it.

thanks very much for the help , guys, this board is great.
Luc Meisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 01:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 206
I use this same setup. You must use firewire.

There are some weird things to look out for. FCP would not recognize the HV10 with an HDV recording until I created a sequence that was HDV, then it magically appeared.

Also their is a problem when you want to capture DV footage. I find that running the tape to actual timecode fixes this.
__________________
www.CodemanStudios.com
Cody Lucido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 03:22 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
This isnt the usual firewire cable that some people have in their houses, is it.
yes, it is a standard firewire cable (video type)

>>> http://www.research.att.com/~suresh/...able_6_4-3.jpg
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 05:56 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
It is a standard fire wire cable, mmm

in the manual it calls it a HDV/dv cable...
but i guess thats what they call a standard one. huh.

Trouble seeing the HV-10, but final cut is supposed to capture HDV easily.

Isnt it?
Luc Meisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 10:48 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
It is a standard fire wire cable, mmm
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
in the manual it calls it a HDV/dv cable...
but i guess thats what they call a standard one. huh.
A DV cable is another name for a firewire cable.

It is a standard one, the same firewire cable used to connect cameras by Sony, Panasonic, JVC etc etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
Trouble seeing the HV-10, but final cut is supposed to capture HDV easily.

Isnt it?
Do you have the right cable ?

Final Cut (and iMovie) does indeed capture HDV without trouble.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 10:21 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
It is a standard fire wire cable, mmm

in the manual it calls it a HDV/dv cable...
but i guess thats what they call a standard one. huh.

Trouble seeing the HV-10, but final cut is supposed to capture HDV easily.

Isnt it?
HDV and DV use a 4 pin to 6 pin standard FW cable. Same interface.

You can get one just about anywhere including Office Depot, Staples, CompUSA, the internet, etc.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 08:56 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 202
I haven't tried it on an Intel Mac, but HV10 works fine for me on both iMovie and Final Cut Express 3.5.

It requires a DV cable. I was disappointed that it wasn't included. I was glad I had spares. The only possible reason I can think of to leave it off is that some computers have a four pin port, others have a six pin port. It would have been nice if there was a clear notice on the box that it doesn't have a memory card or a Firewire cable.
Jeff DeMaagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 12:05 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Oh i agree , at the 1200 price point, it should have had a firewire cable.

I actually hooked up the USB thinking that this would work.
I was shocked to find out that I needed to either go to the store or find one in the closet.

happily there was an extra sitting under my bed. :)

So Jeff what are your setting that got FC to see your HV-10
I am still trying to get it to work.
I find it strange because iMovie works immediately!

But FCP does nothing not even recognizes the cam....

Freaky

Any help is appreciated.
Luc Meisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 12:28 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
i have five video cameras, and not a single one came with a firewire cable included. it is always something you have to purchase, regardless of the price of the camera. they don't include it, because not everyone uses firewire to download...it's only one option. so don't be too disappointed. that's normal, regardless of the price point. and luc, i don't want to sound condescending (though maybe i am....), but the HV10 manual is pretty well organized, and you could easily have figured out that the USB cable is intended to support the stills function simply by cracking the book....

on that condescending note! luc, you do have FCP 5.1 or higher, yes? you didn't mention which version of FCP you're running, but is your software up to date? that would be my first question. if it is, then i'll post my FCP settings.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 12:36 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Meisel
So Jeff what are your setting that got FC to see your HV-10
I am still trying to get it to work.
I find it strange because iMovie works immediately!

But FCP does nothing not even recognizes the cam....
I really didn't have any trouble, but I wonder if the software is enough different for me. Keep in mind that I have FCE, not FCP. All I did was made sure that the camera was connected, then turned on before I started FCE. Then I used "Easy Setup" (Ctrl-Q) to tell it if I was using standard def or high-def recording, then clicked File->Capture to capture the video.
Jeff DeMaagd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 02:12 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
ok that worked great!

thanks so much, got it all connected and captured.

Which reminded of how much I dont like tape vs P2 or SD
Luc Meisel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network