Editing for 1920x1080 vs. 1440x1080 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2006, 01:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Editing for 1920x1080 vs. 1440x1080

So The Canon HV10 captures 1920x1080. -and a belieave at this time its the first HDV camera avaiable yet to do so. The rest of the batch capture 1440x1080.
As far as editing this goes: Im worried about support for 1920x1080.
Premiere pro 2 shows its HDV settings at 1440x1080. If I capture using this HV10 cam to Premieres HDV timeline - will i be loosing resolution?

How can I be sure to capture and edit at 1920x1080?
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 01:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
In premiere pro 2 you can customise the size by going to

new project>custom settings

instead of picking the hdv default

good luck
Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 02:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Stick,

The Adobe HDV settings are fixed on 1080x1440 and cannot be changed.

Perhaps you are thinking of the Adobe SDI-HD tab which is is 1920x1080.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 03:14 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
So is the cam actually outputting 1980x1080? I thought it had to be 1440x1080 to meet the HDV spec.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 04:15 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The CMOS image sensor in the HV10 is 1920x1080. What goes to tape is HDV, which is 1440x1080.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 05:59 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyson Persall
Stick,

The Adobe HDV settings are fixed on 1080x1440 and cannot be changed.

Perhaps you are thinking of the Adobe SDI-HD tab which is is 1920x1080.
check this screenshot, you can change the size


www.tullyvision.net/mess/pp2.jpg

i have an fx1 and if i put footage into after effects i have to change the aspect ratio to square pixels and make the comp 1920x1080, im not sure why though
Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2006, 07:16 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
The CMOS image sensor in the HV10 is 1920x1080. What goes to tape is HDV, which is 1440x1080.
Agreeing. This is what we also discussed in the Avid Liquid board. 1440x1080 out.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 11:33 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Stick,
I never even thought to try Desktop Editing mode. Anybody know what they mean by "desktop mode"?
Yeah, I do a lot of after effects compositing. I will try this method.
---------------------


So the output is 1440x1080 to tape. got it.
Again there i go reading the little advertising sticker on the camera and not the fine print.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 04:40 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Warning!

If you use your HDV footage with After Effects and capture with FCP - watchout as the footage needs to have it header re-written to 1440*1080 (from 1920*1080) as you lose half the horizontal resolution.

I am not sure if I have explained this clearly but if you do use this combination I can perhaps put a little more effort into explaining if you like !


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyson Persall
Stick,
I never even thought to try Desktop Editing mode. Anybody know what they mean by "desktop mode"?
Yeah, I do a lot of after effects compositing. I will try this method.
---------------------


So the output is 1440x1080 to tape. got it.
Again there i go reading the little advertising sticker on the camera and not the fine print.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 04:44 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Wilson
Warning!

If you use your HDV footage with After Effects and capture with FCP - watchout as the footage needs to have it header re-written to 1440*1080 (from 1920*1080) as you lose half the horizontal resolution.

I am not sure if I have explained this clearly but if you do use this combination I can perhaps put a little more effort into explaining if you like !
what do u mean by header re written?

i capture in premiere pro2 then if i put the video into a comp in a.e the image looks shrunk so i change the comp to square pixels and 1920x1080

this hasnt caused me any problems so far... i usually end up rendering out the square pixeled footage from a.e and import it into a normal hdv premiere project and it looks fine to me

or am i missing something?
Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stick Tully
what do u mean by header re written?

i capture in premiere pro2 then if i put the video into a comp in a.e the image looks shrunk so i change the comp to square pixels and 1920x1080

It is only a problem with HDV/FCP >> AE (as far a I know)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stick Tully
or am i missing something?
No.

Last edited by Lee Wilson; October 30th, 2006 at 05:50 PM.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network