Capturing HV10 HDV to hard drive as SD. How? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 1st, 2007, 01:07 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Capturing HV10 HDV to hard drive as SD. How?

(15", 1.25ghz PowerBook, 1 gig RAM)

In case my setup can't capture as HDV, how does one capture HDV from the HV10 as SD?

To capture as HDV (cross fingers) I'd daisy chain by hookin the camera up to FW400 input on hard drive that is connected by FW800 to laptop.

Better suggestion?

Hmm, is there a FW800 cord for linking camera to drive?

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2007, 01:47 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Whoops, forgot!

I'm using FCP5.0.4.

Sorry.

elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2007, 11:12 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pornainen, Finland
Posts: 16
Datarate of HDV and DV is the same, so if you computer can handle SD, it will also handle HDV...

Playback of the 1440x1080 material may not be smooth with G4 CPU, but the copying from tape to HD should work fine with your setup.

You can capture SD by setting your cameras output to SD. Camera will do the conversion.
Aki Peltokoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2007, 05:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
You can set the camcorder DV output to DV-Locked mode, it will downres to SD DV and you can capture just like it was regular SD DV video, has date/time metadata and everything.

In playback mode of the camcorder, go to main menu (button above the jog dial), select 2nd or so submenu, look for DV output... change from DV/HDV to "DV locked", and then connect the camera to the computer. Voila.

True that the HDV files are same bitrate as the DV files, so theoretically computer/disk should handle it the same, might have problems if video capture program tries to convert to intermediate codec or display while capturing.
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2007, 06:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmer Lang
(15", 1.25ghz PowerBook, 1 gig RAM)
In case my setup can't capture as HDV, how does one capture HDV from the HV10 as SD?
Final Cut Pro should be able to just capture it without converting it to Apple Intermediate Codec.

Quote:
To capture as HDV (cross fingers) I'd daisy chain by hookin the camera up to FW400 input on hard drive that is connected by FW800 to laptop.

Better suggestion?

Hmm, is there a FW800 cord for linking camera to drive?
You can buy a mini four pin to FW800 cable. It wouldn't be any faster but it will connect. Isn't there another Firewire port on that computer?
Jeff DeMaagd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network