Checking hours on the heads at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2007, 03:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Checking hours on the heads

Does anyone know how to check the hours on the HV10 heads? Can't find it in the manual.

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:31 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 138
That's a pro feature, I don't think you'll find it on the HV10 or any consumer camcorders.
Rich Dykmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 04:22 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami, Florida. USA.
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmer Lang
Does anyone know how to check the hours on the HV10 heads? Can't find it in the manual.

thanks,
elmer
When the time comes to clean the heads the camcorder will display it on the screen. it is in the Manual page 82, top left.

Luis
Luis A. Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 02:07 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Dykmans
That's a pro feature, I don't think you'll find it on the HV10 or any consumer camcorders.
Though it's a pro feature to easily check, there must be a way, 'off-menu', to check.

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 10:47 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 138
If the unit is tracking hours so that it can trigger a cleaning warning to the user then I suppose Canon has some sort of diagnostic software that might be able to show total hours.

However most times in this level of consumer camcorders triggering cleaning instruction warnings are not based on hours but on actual head clogs.

Then again since the HV10 is using the same processor as the H1/A1 it certainly should have the capability unless Canon disabled it.
Rich Dykmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 11:41 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Just curiously, do hours on the HV10's heads accumulate

1) in both 'camera' and 'play.'

2) only when heads are running (record or playback), or also when you just turn on 'camera' or 'play.'

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 01:02 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plainview, N.Y.
Posts: 1,944
As long as tape goes past the heads, whether in record or play, there is wear.
Ken Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 04:26 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Thanks for the reply, but I was referring to clock hours on the heads.

Anotherwards, do the clock hours start ticking if you just turn it on, record or play, even if not actually recording or playing and the heads turning?

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 06:01 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Coalville America
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Dykmans
That's a pro feature, I don't think you'll find it on the HV10 or any consumer camcorders.
Pro, schmoe. The A1 is a far better camcorder than the DVX, which shows the hours used. Canon hasn't provided the hours for any camcorder, that I am aware of. It isn't a "pro" feature by definition, but most of the higher end camcoders have it, but doesn't reduce the A1 from not being a pro camcorder.
Holly Rognan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 06:08 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 111
Hi

I had an H1 and sent it to the factory center where they can use a diagnostic tool to read out the total hours the camera has been turned on as well as how many hours the drum has been running.

I would assume that the A1/G1 do this as well, I am not sure that the HV10
has that ability.

Chuck
Chuck Wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 12:22 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holly Rognan
Pro, schmoe. The A1 is a far better camcorder than the DVX, which shows the hours used. Canon hasn't provided the hours for any camcorder, that I am aware of. It isn't a "pro" feature by definition, but most of the higher end camcoders have it, but doesn't reduce the A1 from not being a pro camcorder.
Wasn't trying to infer the A1 wasn't a pro camera because I didn't realize the A1/G1/H1 didn't have that feature, all the Pannys and Sonys I've owned all have had hour meters I just assumed the Canon proline did as well - my bad!
Rich Dykmans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network