HV10 + Premiere Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2007, 02:09 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 9
HV10 + Premiere Pro

Hey Guys,

I own Premiere Pro and i think it's absolutely great for editing video, however, I'm having some trouble with the built-in "Adobe media encoder". I have since purchased TMPGEnc XPress 4.0 for encoding but unfortunately it doesn't capture or edit well.

Is there a way to capture and edit in Premiere Pro and then somehow export or save my work in the same uncompressed (raw) format as the original so that I can encode using another program.

It seems that .AVI is the only practical export option and all the formats in the encoder seem to be compressing (event on high quality settings).

Here is a clip that was captured in Premiere (produced a 1 gig .mpeg file) and then cut and saved as .m2t on high settings. I then encoded it in TMPGEnc to wmv at 852x480.

http://www.brooklineservicecorp.com/Snow.wmv (Right-click Save As)
Derek Hunziker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 03:36 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 106
Possibly. But what, exactly, is the problem with the Adobe Media Encoder since you can't get it to work the way you want?
__________________
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night."
-- Edgar Allan Poe
Even Solberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 11:08 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 9
Well it's slow and overly complicated IMO. And every time I make a mistake with the settings I have to start over (in TMPGEnc there is a preview output option). The difference is night and day really.

I have already spent the $100 on TMPGEnc so I'm really hoping there is a proper way to save my Premiere work in the same raw, uncompressed format.

Do you use Premiere for encoding HD?
Derek Hunziker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2007, 01:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 106
Yes. And I save presets with my settings, so I'm not having a lot of trouble...
__________________
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night."
-- Edgar Allan Poe
Even Solberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network