HV-10 downconvert question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2007, 02:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
HV-10 downconvert question

Unless I'm a total dummy & doing something wrong... can someone tell me how to downconvert & get the proper aspect ratio result for 4:3? I would assume it would work the same way as the A1, but all I get is a vertical stretch on my SD monitor. TV TYPE is set to 4:3 but no difference.

At this point I'm wondering if this unit is defective in this regard or just doesn't have this feature, which would be fairly ridiculous & useless in my opinion.

Any advice is appreciated.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 06:55 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
What type of connection are you using... component video, or stereo AV?

TV monitor... age, make and model?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 11:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
So far I've only tried going firewire out of the HV-10 into a DSR-11 & y/c out of that into a prehistoric Sony PVM-1350 monitor.

I assume at this point it would behave the same way (with the vertical stretch) if I was trying to capture into Avid, but only tried the above connections just for a quick test view. The A1 works as it should in this regard & I'd hate to think that buying the HV-10 to use for deck purposes to save wear & tear on the A1 is going to force me to resize in post to get proper aspect ratio as the only alternative. OR going D/A conversion from composite out just for this.

TIA for any advice.
Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 01:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Well, I just figured out something peculiar. The only way to get proper aspect ratio for 4:3 letterbox when downconverting using firewire out is to have the A/V out cable inserted in the HV-10 simultaneously! In fact, I just had an idea while writing this & it's not even the A/V cable that needs to be connected... all it needs is a mini plug. I just tried it with a right angle mini adapter I had for headphone use! Disconnect the adapter or A/V cable or any mini plug & it reverts back to vertical stretch... reconnect & it goes back to letterbox. Go figure.

Really goofy design & can't imagine what they were thinking, but it works.

I searched high & low on the forum here & seems no one that uses this as a deck for capturing mentions this.

Anyway, problem solved... even though strange as it seems :)

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 05:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
I don't think they modeled the firewire for display output, but for capture.
The firewire outputs what was recorded on tape, and that can be 16:9 HDV, 16:9 SD(DV), or 4:3SD(DV). That's it. The downconvert over firewire just changes to DV format; it retains everything else including shot timestamp metadata, so it makes sense to retain the aspect ratio as well (since it will record 16:9 native DV, it just changes HDV to 16:9 DV.)

To change aspect ratio etc in firewire (capture), you'd normally have to use your NLE editor.

The display aspect/TV mode settings are for the connected video outs (components/RCA etc).
It's very interesting you seem to have found a feature that connecting video out (with tv mode set), will change the aspect on firewire too? sounds like a neat feature to me :) (since you might want to hook up for quick display via A/V port, and set TV mode for that, but capture as native aspect for other editing...)



But
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 05:43 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Gould
sounds like a neat feature to me :) (since you might want to hook up for quick display via A/V port, and set TV mode for that, but capture as native aspect for other editing...)
Yep & it would have neat if they had this info in the manual as well :)

There's worse things in life... & I'm over it now :D

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network