HV20 as deck for XHA1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2007, 06:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
HV20 as deck for XHA1

Just imported into FCP 30 minutes of A1 footage using the HV20. FCP recognized the camera and imported without a problem, with the correct (23.98) frame rate.
__________________
www.gencofilms.com
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 06:48 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Good news! Like everyone one else, I expected it to work because it's advertised to playback the frame modes...but it's good to note a succesful user experience. :)
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 09:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 100
Yeah, wuz just confoiming dat it woiks like it shud!
__________________
www.gencofilms.com
Larry Kamerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 03:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 50
(REVERSE) XHA1 as deck for HV20?

I'm testing out an HV20 this afternoon, and from reading various posts here, it does not look like the HV20's 1080p24 is compatible with FCP 514 at this point. In thinking about it, I thought that the FCP easy setup 1080p24HDV would work as it does with the Canon's 24f modes simply because as the information from the A1, shot 24f, leaves the firewire output and captures into FCP as a 1440x1080p signal with a 23.98 framerate. Since the HV20 scales 1920 down to 1440x1080, and the framerate is 23.98, at 25mbs, should the FCP simply think that the information coming into in via firewire is no different then the A1's signal? Does the CMOS trip things up here?

Alternately, I wonder if the XHA1 in 24f mode can be used as a deck for footage shot with the HV20 in 24p HDV? The A1 in VTR mode is actually just sending out through firewire a 1440x1080p, 25mbs, 23.98 signal.... I presume the HDMI and componant ouputs on the HV20 send out 24p at 60i with a 3:2 pulldown, understandably. But it's that single IEEE 1394 port that I hope is the solution for proper injest into FCP 5.1.4 on an Intel Mac. I've tricked one element to think it's something else, but maybe this one will be another holding pattern until FCP and the other NLE's can deal with yet another camera configuration. Thoughts?
__________________
Taylor Wigton
DP, Los Angeles
Taylor Wigton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 03:44 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Taylor,

If I'm understanding your post correctly, in fact, FCP should be seeing the 24p mode from the HV20 (if the material was shot from this cam) as a 1080 60i stream. The footage always has pulldown, correct? I don't believe there's any way for FCP to capture it natively at 24p when it's a standard 29.97 with 3:2 pulldown.

Have you tried capturing A1 HDV 24F material through firewire with the HV20 and the FCP HDV 1080 24p setup?
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow Elton View Post
Taylor,

If I'm understanding your post correctly, in fact, FCP should be seeing the 24p mode from the HV20 (if the material was shot from this cam) as a 1080 60i stream. The footage always has pulldown, correct? I don't believe there's any way for FCP to capture it natively at 24p when it's a standard 29.97 with 3:2 pulldown.
Hey Barlow... As far as the Canon XH, XHA1/G1 goes with respect to 24f HDV, every single ouput EXCEPT firewire sends out 1080 60i with 3:2 pulldown. Even the HD-SDI spigot on the H1 & G1 sends out 24f material as a 1080 60i signal (which I can't quite understand). Firewire is the ONLY port that will send 24 individual progressive 1440x1080 frames for NLE capture. You can actaully step frame through the captured 24f footage in your 23.98 sequence or in your quicktime file and count the 24 frames, then look at your timecode and see the next second occur once you've counted that last 24th frame.

>>>>Have you tried capturing A1 HDV 24F material through firewire with the HV20 and the FCP HDV 1080 24p setup?>>>

No, still waiting for the Fedex truck to arrive with the HV20. Supposed to arrive today no later then 3pm PST! I have an A1 here as well so I will test and report back ASAP. Thanks.
__________________
Taylor Wigton
DP, Los Angeles
Taylor Wigton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 04:17 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taylor Wigton View Post
Hey Barlow... As far as the Canon XH, XHA1/G1 goes with respect to 24f HDV, every single ouput EXCEPT firewire sends out 1080 60i with 3:2 pulldown.
Hi Taylor. :)

Yeah, I've noticed that every port other than firewire does this, and it was very far-sighted of Canon, IMO. I love the pure 24p HDV capture that's possible with FCP and 24F footage.

Quote:
Even the HD-SDI spigot on the H1 & G1 sends out 24f material as a 1080 60i signal (which I can't quite understand).
I understand it as a basic function of HDTV system functionality. It'd be nice if it had a NLE recognizable PsF-type function like HDCAM, but it's just standard 24p carried over 60i with pulldown. I'm hoping AJA comes out with an upgrade to my KonaLH software that could capture 24F over HD SDI and remove pulldown on the fly.

Quote:
Firewire is the ONLY port that will send 24 individual progressive 1440x1080 frames for NLE capture. You can actaully step frame through the captured 24f footage in your 23.98 sequence or in your quicktime file and count the 24 frames, then look at your timecode and see the next second occur once you've counted that last 24th frame.
Yup, it's a thing of beauty. :)

Quote:
>>>>Have you tried capturing A1 HDV 24F material through firewire with the HV20 and the FCP HDV 1080 24p setup?>>>

No, still waiting for the Fedex truck to arrive with the HV20. Supposed to arrive today no later then 3pm PST! I have an A1 here as well so I will test and report back ASAP. Thanks.
Great, please post your findings. The HV20 *should* playback A1/G1/H1 24F mode properly, allowing it to work with FCP 24F HDV editing.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 05:32 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow Elton View Post
Great, please post your findings. The HV20 *should* playback A1/G1/H1 24F mode properly, allowing it to work with FCP 24F HDV editing.
Wow, the little camera is superb! But... it is not supported yet in FCP :( I shot some 24p footage with the HV20, attempted a 1080p24HDV capture and tried then to use the A1 but no dice. It captures as 1080i60 from both cameras, 29.97. I wonder if Cinema Tools can do a reverse pulldown?

BUT GAL DARNIT!!! The picture is way to good for what looks and feels like the cameras moms and dads use at Chucky Cheese for little eddies 4th b-day party. (the pizza is amazing, come on now)

Thankfully, there are zebras! 70/100%. Phew. And the battery, well, I'd rather not go there.
__________________
Taylor Wigton
DP, Los Angeles
Taylor Wigton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 06:14 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Please post something cool! If you don't know how to capture m2t's, I can walk you through it.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 08:32 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
Anyone try with Vegas?

How does the HV20, as a cam, match with the A1?
I plan to purchase this as a deck and a spare cam..perhaps 2
with using one just underwater footage.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 09:00 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Weiss View Post
Anyone try with Vegas?

How does the HV20, as a cam, match with the A1?
I plan to purchase this as a deck and a spare cam..perhaps 2
with using one just underwater footage.


What housing are you planning on using with the HV20??
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 09:46 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
What housing are you planning on using with the HV20??
Which ever one will be coming on the market in a few months to provide for it.

I've been using the same EWA MArine bag for my GL2 for at least 5 years.
I use it at least twice per month. That thing is the best ziplock bag ever.
It keeps my leftovers fresh as well.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network