Downconverting in camera? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2007, 07:28 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 169
Downconverting in camera?

Does the HV20 downconvert from HDV to DV in camera for export as SD DV avi files? I was hoping to use the HV20 as an upload deck for Same Day Highlights at weddings. The Same Day Highlights will be in SD as my laptop can't handle HDV yet and it is just easier in SD under the time constraints.

I have tried the menus and in the Playout Setup 2 menu the DV out option is greyed out.
Philip Hinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 07:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
Yes, it should like the HV10...
you have to set "DV Locked" output before you connect the firewire cable, that may be why it is greyed out.

HDV will downconvert to 16:9 SD DV.
It still has all the same DV-style timestamp metadata for scene-splitting, and seems to work fine, although sometimes in Ulead MSPro, splits are a frame or two off... not sure if that's MSPro or the camera's fault. Never had a problem w/ DV cameras so it may be the HV's downconversion.
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 07:52 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 169
Ahh....that did the trick. Thank you. I still had the FW cable plugged in.

Good to go. Thanks for the help.

Philip
Philip Hinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 03:48 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Gould View Post
...sometimes in Ulead MSPro, splits are a frame or two off... not sure if that's MSPro or the camera's fault.
It's the same with the A1 as well. Scene splits are 3 frames off consistently, so I don't think it's NLE related. I have an HV10 as well, but haven't used it for downconverting yet, but I'm assuming it will be the same.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 07:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stoughton, WI
Posts: 169
I'm aware of the possibility of the scenes being off by a few frames and for me that is not a problem. I can deal with that pretty easily.
Philip Hinkle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network