HV20 slow-motion clips at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2007, 06:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 141
HV20 slow-motion clips

someone here might find these useful. note that the canon footage was shot when it was much darker. i didn't know i'd be comparing these two cameras or sharing these clips with anyone outside of friends: there are some flaws in the comparison. details are below:

http://www.bakraa.com/slowmo/

(try not to crash my server: please right click and download)

running_hv20_720p.mp4 - 14.2MB: CC'd canon footage
running_hv20_original_720p.mp4 - 8.9MB: original canon footage (shot 1080i60@1/500)
running_hvx200_720p.mp4 - 8.2MB: CC'd panasonic footage (shot 720p60@1/500-i think)

issues and details:
- the CC'd canon file is at a higher bitrate than the others (not intentional: didn't make much difference though)
- the canon footage was shot in, to use the scientific term: "lowish" light conditions, during or right after sunset. the panasonic footage was shot in the very late afternoon. the canon footage was shot last week. the panasonic footage was shot last august.
- the canon footage was shot using a wide-angle lens (that sucks up stray light like Hades) and no shade/mattbox. the panasonic was shot with the built-in shade and no extra glass.
- grey t-shirt in the panasonic footage; brown shirt in the canon, but the same dark blue running sweats in both.
- the panasonic footage is color-altered more than the canon footage
- almost no cloud cover in both shoots: fwiw, a very clever person could estimate the absolute amount of light falling on the scenes by noting the position of the sun (length of the shadows), time of year, location, etc.

settings:
canon:
1080i60, 1/500th(i think), TV-mode, aperture probably wide open, image probably gained up (don't have control over this of course), "shade "white balance (i think), will have to double check these--but i think: custom settings: contrast -1, detail -1, brightness -1
panasonic:
720p24, 1/500th(i think), no idea what the aperture was (definitely not wide open), probably: cinelike D + cine-like matrix

workflow:
panasonic: 720p60@1/500th->p2->hdlink->cfhd->vegas->24p->h.264
canon: 1080i60@1/500th->hdlink->cfhd->vegas->24p->h.264
Ali Husain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 06:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, US
Posts: 63
Wow! How is the HV20 footage treated in the NLE?
Ian Albinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 06:36 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 13
Dont find the words, that look absolute fantastic!

But I dont understand how you did that, searching on google aboute "hdlink" and after that Cineform but dont see the workflow yet (sorry)

Please, help me out to understand, have you done 1080i to 60P with help of downsize it to 720P? How mutch slowmotion is it, 50%?

Excuse my bad english, this is my first post..

// Johan


edit: Can I get the same result in Premiere Pro 2.0, with help of the Cineform?

Last edited by Johan Bunis; April 9th, 2007 at 08:03 PM.
Johan Bunis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 07:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 51
I think he is saying that Cineform was used for the capture... Sony Vegas was the editor that did the rest (slo mo... conversion...)
George Anthonisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 10:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
Looked awesome to me
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 11:20 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
In "running_hv20_original_720p.mp4 " the person looks to be running slo mo to me, despite you listing it as original footage. So, original after slomo.

Which wide-angle lens are using? It looks fantastic! I have an old Sony but it vignette's more than I'd like on full-wide. Does your lens vignette?

The canon footage is very sharp, and I see no grain at all - for lowlight, of any camara, it's great.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 06:59 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Ali, you werent kidding on you other review about the slow motion being as good as the hvxs. What was you workflow to obtain such realistic slow motion? I tried a couple of times on premiere and it comes out very jittery. Yours is perfect.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 08:46 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 320
Slow motion can be done without any effort in Vegas just by setting the plackback rate of a 60i/50i clip to 0.5. Of course the progressive mode setting in properties also needs to be set to interpolate fileds.

No idea how it would be done in Premiere or if it's possible.
Glenn Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Just change the clip duration in Premiere Pro - and it usually works. Apparently Premiere Pro CS3 should be even better at this. There are also ways to pull it off in After Effects.

As usual, you have to be careful about field settings, as the basic process is converting 60 fields to frames.

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:09 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
I tried shooting with the A1 at 1/120 shutter, using 25F and then I imported it to a 25F timeline on premiere pro 2.0 and slowed the footage down with "properties-->speed". But it looked nothing like this.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:46 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Raf, 25F on A1 is no-go for slo-mo.
Shoot in 50i (if PAL) with shutter at 100 to get realistic 1:2 slo-mo with realistic motion blur.
I don`t know if you have AE 7 but it does a really great job with time remapping via graph editor, google for tutorials.

Cheers,
T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 10:28 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toenis Liivamaegi View Post
Raf, 25F on A1 is no-go for slo-mo.
Shoot in 50i (if PAL) with shutter at 100 to get realistic 1:2 slo-mo with realistic motion blur.
I don`t know if you have AE 7 but it does a really great job with time remapping via graph editor, google for tutorials.

Cheers,
T
Thanks, Toenis. I have to give that a try. Apparently the new version of premiere will be able to handle time warp/slow motion as good as AE. I have AE but I would really rather being able to do everything on premiere.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 12:16 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central, OH
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Ducon View Post
In "running_hv20_original_720p.mp4 " the person looks to be running slo mo to me, despite you listing it as original footage. So, original after slomo.
I have this same question. Is that clip 'original after slomo?'

EDIT to note: I guess that is the case. In this situation the word 'original' simply means no color correction?
David Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 12:21 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Lopes View Post
I tried shooting with the A1 at 1/120 shutter, using 25F and then I imported it to a 25F timeline on premiere pro 2.0 and slowed the footage down with "properties-->speed". But it looked nothing like this.
That's because you shot it in 24p (F), A1 footage will run circles around these type of cameras, you need to be shooting at 50i/60i at a speed of 120 of higher, then de-interlace to 60p using interpolation and add to a 24p timeline.

I hope I didn't get you confused.
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 12:28 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomas Chinchilla View Post
That's because you shot it in 24p (F), A1 footage will run circles around these type of cameras, you need to be shooting at 50i/60i at a speed of 120 of higher, then de-interlace to 60p using interpolation and add to a 24p timeline.

I hope I didn't get you confused.
My nose is bleeding, but its ok. ;)
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network