Capturing on a PC with the HV20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2007, 07:49 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Capturing on a PC with the HV20

Upon capturing my first hours worth of footage from the HV20 I find that every clip it creates has a green mosaic pattern at the beginning and also a half/partial frame at the end. The partial frame at the end seems to contain data from the flollowing clip.... in others words frame 1 of clip2 is partially embedded in the last frame of clip1. The software is splitting the clips based on start and stop times. I have seen the green glitch at the beginning of clips but not at the end of them. I captured using Premiere Pro 2.0 and Vegas 7 so far. I have not tried Cineform as I am not sure how it captures 24P from HV20 with pulldown.

Is there a workaround for this? I have the software split the clips so it is easier for me to drop in timelines and simply add transitions. But with every single clip needing trimmed at the head and the tail this is simply a pain in the butt.

I do not remember having this problem with the XL-H1. Anyome?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:18 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
Upon capturing my first hours worth of footage from the HV20 I find that every clip it creates has a green mosaic pattern at the beginning and also a half/partial frame at the end. The partial frame at the end seems to contain data from the flollowing clip.... in others words frame 1 of clip2 is partially embedded in the last frame of clip1. The software is splitting the clips based on start and stop times. I have seen the green glitch at the beginning of clips but not at the end of them. I captured using Premiere Pro 2.0 and Vegas 7 so far. I have not tried Cineform as I am not sure how it captures 24P from HV20 with pulldown.

Is there a workaround for this? I have the software split the clips so it is easier for me to drop in timelines and simply add transitions. But with every single clip needing trimmed at the head and the tail this is simply a pain in the butt.

I do not remember having this problem with the XL-H1. Anyome?
Is this with 24p? seems like it's grabbing wrong fields or something...

have you tried capturing M2T with another (free) program like HDVsplit (0.77 should work incl. splitting by scene), and edit those files in PP2?

I haven't seen any such issues on my HV10, but I don't use Premiere.
I did notice that scene splits tend to be a few frames off when I use DV Locked mode for some reason.
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:52 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Let me correct something. This was actually capturing 24F recorded on my XL-H1 using the HV20 as a capture device only. I have read posts of people who see this "green" scrambled frame at the beginning of clips after capturing.
Has anyone found a workaround?

Thanks.

What do you mean by DV locked mode?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 11:37 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
I have not tried Cineform as I am not sure how it captures 24P from HV20 with pulldown.
Perfectly! ;) We detect the pulldown cadence and extract to 24p before encoding into a CineForm AVI. Works nicely.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 07:27 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Perfectly! ;) We detect the pulldown cadence and extract to 24p before encoding into a CineForm AVI. Works nicely.
So do I have to change one of the settings in the software? I saw 3:2 pulldown removal for P2 1080i and Sony Cineframe....does this option need checked?

Thanks.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 09:25 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Marty,

Yes, for the HV20 you do need to check the remove pulldown control.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 10:28 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Marty,

Yes, for the HV20 you do need to check the remove pulldown control.
David, what is the best way to do this with Premiere Pro 1.5?
Can it be done?

Mike
__________________
My short films... The Interview & Calls From The Führerbunker
Mike Horrigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Aspect HD works with Premiere Pro 1.5.1, 2.0 & now CS3.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 11:10 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8
David: Do you have a product that works with Vegas 7? If so what exactly is the workflow?
Keith Knuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2007, 12:31 AM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes Connect HD today, and NEO HDV replacing it, works with Vegas 5,6 & 7.
http://www.cineform.com/products/ConnectHD.htm
http://www.cineform.com/products/NeoHD.htm
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network