Has anyone else tried this? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2007, 02:00 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Has anyone else tried this?

About working with HV20's 24p on FCP, I found this post in the FCP forum.

http://discussions.apple.com/message...387914#4387914

I tried this workflow by capturing AIC in FCP, then open the files in Cinematools and select the order patterns that Michael mentioned in the link. Then look at the saved file but ended up have the interlaced frame here and there. I tried every pattern but none worked properly.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2007, 03:07 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I found out that if the clip is AA pattern and it works....when it works it looks beautiful!

Here's a quick shot and quick result of the workflow.

http://www.xtream.ne.jp/en/component...,81/Itemid,68/

You need to register at the site.

Last edited by Kaku Ito; April 21st, 2007 at 03:55 PM.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2007, 05:49 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 35
Can you explain the _BC_, _CD_ keys, etc in the apple post?

I understand the concept of the i and p frames and can see them, but am missing something here..

Thanks in advance.
Brandon Svec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2007, 05:54 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
in regards to cinema tools the aa, bb, bc cd dd buttons just tell cinema tools where to start the cadence on the file it's going to process.
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2007, 11:05 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
So far, for some reason, only AA cadance works for me, so I have to make every clip start with AA cadance but it works great.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007, 02:15 AM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaku Ito View Post
So far, for some reason, only AA cadance works for me, so I have to make every clip start with AA cadance but it works great.
that's strange, the only ones i have issues with are the ones that start with 2 interlaced frames, i've found no settings to that will process those correctly, although making each clip start with AA you can then batch them i believe.
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007, 12:10 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Austin,

I tried every possible orders and combinations then that was what worked for me. Odd, but anyhow, setting the clips to AA cadance is not much problem to me at this point. It is great to have a way to edit 24P.

Batch works fine, too.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 04:05 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN.
Posts: 30
from another discussion I found just to add it here too...


p-p-i-i-p - aa
p-i-i-p-p - bb
i-p-p-p-i - bc
p-p-p-i-i - cd

When using Cinema Tools to rev telecine..

If you can spot the order in your clip by viewing it, or place the play head at the beginning of a pppii, then it should work fine according to what I've read..
Norm Goodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 05:26 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Does anybody know if any of the above method work with FCP6 and DVCPRO HD codec file? Now the new Cinematool seems like read and initiate the reverse telecine on DVCPRO HD file, but never seems to work. I know it was only working for AIC before, but has anyone successfully reversetelecined the DVCPRO HD footage?
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 05:44 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I figured it out.

Same as my post above, make it on "AA", but one of the clip had to be set in the "capture mode" to be <Field 1 - Field 2> and the Fields to be <Style 2> and A1A2. I'm going to figure this out with other cadence patterns and I guess I have to look into Field 1 - Field 2 thing is depending on the capture timing (so ends up being inconsistent).
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 02:38 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 434
This is a lot of work -- why not use this technique, posted by apple?
Ben Syverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 06:48 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Dang.....

...Why the hell not just use JES De-Interlacer with the telecine option?????

I have been using it for quite sometime and results are great, of course I ussually end up encoding to ProRes but you can encode to anything really.
__________________
Tomas A. Chinchilla | CANON XH A1, HV20 & HC3 | Retired Cams: GL2, HC1, FX1, Z1, | Final Cut Studio 2
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network