HV20 exposure manual control at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2007, 08:45 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
HV20 exposure manual control

I`ve read some threads on exposure manual control of HV20 and I didn`t understand if I can lock the exposure in a specific F stop with the shutter speed already set. As, for example, in 48 (with the camera in 24p).
Thanks
Ron
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 09:17 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 440
You can, select TV mode and you can set your shutter speed, then use the joystick to set your exposure.
__________________
Clips | Stills
Wes Vasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 10:06 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 4
I have a question, if I set the shutter to be 1/25 and then manualy change the expose (with the joystick) will it overwrite the shutter speed?

D.
Denis Malyavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 10:17 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Posts: 351
Denis, Wes' explanation for Ron would also answer your question. You just set the cam in "shutter priority" (TV Mode) to the shutter speed you want and then use the joystick to adjust your exposure.

Here's the trick...once you set your exposure to where you want...leave the settings visible on-screen. This will lock your exposure into place and this way you will have both your shutter and exposure locked. If you toggle the exposure setting visibly off the screen then the cam will reset your exposure to where it thinks it should be.

Just set it and forget it.
Ian
Ian G. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 11:14 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 293
Perhaps a little more detail would be helpful: you can set your apeture (f-stop) in Av mode or your shutter speed in Tv mode. That effectively locks that setting - apeture or shutter. But there is no "M" (full manual) mode per se on the HV20. What happens next in Av mode is if you use the joystick to toggle your EXP to manual, you can change the shutter speed (and if you run out of shutter, your ND's) but you'll never really know what your exact shutter speed is (except maybe after the fact by putting the tape in another camera that does display both apeture and shutter) and the camera just says you're adjusting exposure +/- in increments of "1". In Tv mode, it's the apeture that gets adjusted by going into EXP with the joystick (and maybe some gain once the apeture is wide open), again in +/- increments of "1" (which might end up being 1/3 stop increments but I haven't tested that). So... you kinda have full manual control over your exposure with the HV20 but not really b/c you don't know exactly where you are - at least based on the display in the viewfinder/LCD.
Peter J Alessandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 11:20 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian G. Thompson View Post
Denis, Wes' explanation for Ron would also answer your question. You just set the cam in "shutter priority" (TV Mode) to the shutter speed you want and then use the joystick to adjust your exposure.

Here's the trick...once you set your exposure to where you want...leave the settings visible on-screen. This will lock your exposure into place and this way you will have both your shutter and exposure locked. If you toggle the exposure setting visibly off the screen then the cam will reset your exposure to where it thinks it should be.

Just set it and forget it.
Ian
Actually, in my experience, you are able to click out of the "joy stick" mode to clear the screen, and still have exposure locked. It will unlock again when you access the exposure setting with the joystick again.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 11:23 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Actually, in my experience, you are able to click out of the "joy stick" mode to clear the screen, and still have exposure locked. It will unlock again when you access the exposure setting with the joystick again.
That's correct.
Peter J Alessandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 11:43 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Actually, in my experience, you are able to click out of the "joy stick" mode to clear the screen, and still have exposure locked. It will unlock again when you access the exposure setting with the joystick again.
You are absolutely correct...but...if you find yourself in a situation (while filming) where you want to make a subtle change to your exposure you can ...only if you leave the setting visible on-screen...but once you toggle it off and then back on again it does a drastic jump right back to zero which could (depending on how and what you are shooting) ruin a shot.

Edit: I'm not in front of my cam at the moment but I believe this is what happens.
Ian G. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:14 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter J Alessandria View Post
but you'll never really know what your exact shutter speed is (except maybe after the fact by putting the tape in another camera that does display both apeture and shutter)
You can see what both your shutter speed and aperture is at any time by pressing the photo button half way. An excellent tip that was posted by Povl.
Jason Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:35 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
Could this thread become a sticky? It's a really useful reference.
Patrick
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 04:46 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brown View Post
You can see what both your shutter speed and aperture is at any time by pressing the photo button half way. An excellent tip that was posted by Povl.
I tried this but it didnt work - I dont have a SD card in though - I wonder if thats why?
Fergus Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:25 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Posts: 351
Ok, I'm back at my HV20 and what I found is that you most certainly can turn the exposure control on and off without affecting your current setting (in other words it stays locked). And you can make subtle changes everytime you bring it back on the screen. What you don't want to do is accidently hit EXP (which is very easy to do with this joystick)..that will cause the problem i mentioned above.
Ian G. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:39 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 126
You do need to have a SD card in the camcorder, and to enable Still Image Simultaneous Recording.
Patrick Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 07:51 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Bower View Post
You do need to have a SD card in the camcorder, and to enable Still Image Simultaneous Recording.
Sorry, I"ve been looking for the last half hour at how to enable Still Image Simultaneous Recording and I don't get it. How do you do it?

best,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 08:20 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
In video record mode, select menu. Scroll down to settings just above the menu. It should be saying Sill I. off. With the joy stick, puch right, it will give you to image size selection. Select what ever one you want, then push menu button.

You should be good to go. It really doesn't give you much as far a letting you know you snapped a pic...but it will be on your card.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network