Using HV 20 as deck for Sony Z1 tapes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2007, 12:52 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: buenos aires, argentina
Posts: 7
Using HV 20 as deck for Sony Z1 tapes

I have some HDV footage shot with a rented Sony Z1 and need to upload footage again into my PC (RAID crashed). Possible to use the HV 20 as a deck to upload Z1 footage?
John Kahoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 01:31 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 300
i believe it is... i used my hv20 to capture some hdv footage shot on a sony cam, not sure if it was the z1 but i'm pretty sure it was a sony hdv cam...
__________________
Compositing is my life right now.
IMDB page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3596782/
Austin Meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 02:58 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
HC7 video played back fine in the HV20, so your odds are good.
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 09:55 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
This question has already been dealt with at DVinfo.net somewhere.. and it's a resounding ..

YES

I have put tape after tape of Z1 footage through my HV20. No problems.

Oh, and I shoot on MiniDV tapes. I'm in Marketing, so, yeah, won't see me putting down 50% more for the same product, different package.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 07:03 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Anyone tried an HV10? I got 6 tapes of Z1 footage and it's not running right... some images show up but it doesn't capture/playback right...

Any ideas?

What seems to be happening now, it plays back 2-3 seconds then lags and stops for 2 seconds and starts again...
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 03:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
Joe

I have just got the HV10 for playing footage from my XLH1 onto my computer
with no problems, also footage shot on a FX1 plays fine too
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 04:30 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Odd... why does my camera have trouble with the Z1 footage

Took a couple tapes to bestbuy and circuit city and they work in the HC3 and HC5 and HV20 but not in my HV10... (They had an HV10 but I couldn't get a tape in it because of the security system)
Joe Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 09:34 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
Do you normally use the same tapes in the HV10 or a different brand? Could just need a clean...

Andrew.
__________________
"The future is already here. It's just not very evenly distributed." - William Gibson
Andrew Plumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 01:19 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eggertsville, NY
Posts: 528
My Sony FX1 abd HC3 tapes recorded in HDV format play fine on my Canon HV20. The HDV formnat is standardized to ensure this type of compatability.
Larry Horwitz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network