Resolution 1440x544 after grabbing video to PC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 23rd, 2007, 05:15 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Prague
Posts: 1
Resolution 1440x544 after grabbing video to PC?

Dear all,

I am newbie to the HDV standards and so on. But do not know if I am doing the right thing:

1) I have connected the HV20 to the PC over firewire and transfered the HDV video to the HDD with Ulead Media Studio Pro 8.0.

2) When I played the captured MPG file with the WMP and looked in the properties it has resolution ONLY 1440x544? Shouldn´t it be 1440x1080?

Is it OK? Did I make any mistake anywhere?

Thank you for any advise...
Jan Smid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 06:07 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
Use a newer application. The version you got is 3-4 years old I think, a time where it wouldn't support HDV well (did it even exist?). I have written about cheap non-professional NLEs here: http://eugenia.blogsome.com/2007/06/...g-conclusions/
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 01:38 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugenia Loli-Queru View Post
Use a newer application. The version you got is 3-4 years old I think, a time where it wouldn't support HDV well (did it even exist?). I have written about cheap non-professional NLEs here: http://eugenia.blogsome.com/2007/06/...g-conclusions/
MSPro does HDV well enough thank you, not perfect but certainly better than you imply. I wouldn't call MSPro a cheap non-pro NLE on its own board either :)

I would think the problem is more in the poster's WMP playback, sometimes it doesn't get the non-square pixels right, or might get confused re interlacing etc.

Try using Videolan's VLC player instead, or latest version of WMP, or inspect the properties in MSPro8 itself.
I capture and work w/ HDV fine from a Canon HV10, I'd love for mspro to edit M2T native or do scene-splitting (which vegas only did in later patches), but it works ok so far.
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 02:19 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
I haven't tried its pro version, I tried Ulead Plus 11 -- and I wasn't impressed by the feature set. Now, this Pro version might be better, but it's also 2-3 years old, which might account for early-adoption bugs.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network